Search Results: "Bill McGuire"


BOOK REVIEW

BILL by Chap Reaver
ANIMALS
Released: May 1, 1994

"Laced with wonderfully dry humor and pungent observations, a grand yarn that begs to be shared aloud, and again. (Fiction. 10+)"
From the late author of Mote (1990) and A Little Bit Dead (1992; both Edgar winners), an endearing story that, despite its compelling climax and some pleasingly melodramatic features, is markedly less violent than its predecessors. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: April 1, 2012

"McGuire lays a strong foundation for thinking about the impact of global warming on the stability of the Earth's crust."
Volcanoes can affect our climate, but can our rapidly changing climate trigger volcanic eruptions and destabilize the Earth's crust? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Sept. 1, 2002

"Have a nice day, says our Cassandra, for that may be all that remains. (38 b&w illustrations)"
Professional prophet of doom McGuire (Geophysical Hazards/University College London; Raging Planet, not reviewed) surveys the natural hazards threatening Life As We Know It and concludes that a wide assortment of cataclysmic Big Ones are on the way. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MARTY MCGUIRE by Kate Messner
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 1, 2011

"Believable and endearing characters in a realistic elementary-school setting will be just the thing for fans of Clementine and Ramona. (Fiction. 7-10)"
When the promised land of third grade does not pan as promised, Marty McGuire finds herself playing a completely new role. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MARTY MCGUIRE DIGS WORMS! by Kate Messner
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2012

"A quick, amusing read with an easily digestible environmental message; it is a perfect match for its young intended audience. (Fiction. 6-9)"
Third-grader Marty and her classmates are given a challenge by a visiting environmentalist: to develop Earth-friendly projects that she will then judge. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FRAME AND THE MCGUIRE by Joanna M. Weston
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 24, 2016

"A promising debut novel with a brave, endearing female protagonist. (Historical mystery. 8-12)"
Fifth-grader Frame is thrown into a sharp learning curve after she and her brother, Ranger, discover family friend Uncle Tam's dead body in a river. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE WORLD OF DAUGHTER MCGUIRE by Sharon Dennis Wyeth
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 1994

"Yet Wyeth is to be commended for taking on a big subject and providing means for one individual to formulate a satisfying answer. (Fiction. 9-12)"
Racial and ethnic identity are untangled and rewoven by one Daughter McGuire, 11, who—with her mother and younger brothers- -has moved next door to her grandparents in Washington, D.C., while her father has run off to Colorado to write a book. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: March 11, 2003

"A welcome contribution to legal and judicial history."
Cogent biography, at once admiring and damning, that amplifies and corrects the record left by the controversial Supreme Court justice in his memoirs. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BILL PICKETT by William R. Sanford
BIOGRAPHY
Released: Jan. 1, 1997

"Pickett's stunt will draw readers in initially, but his life story is inspiring enough to keep them. (Nonfiction. 9-15)"
With the superfluous subtitle ``African-American Rodeo Cowboy,'' this entry in the Legendary Heroes of the Wild West series should prove interesting not only to its targeted audience of less-able readers, but to others as well. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BILL PICKETT by Andrea Davis Pinkney
BIOGRAPHY
Released: Sept. 1, 1996

From the creators of Dear Benjamin Banneker (1994), rip-snorting picture-book biography of the first African-American cowboy inducted into the National Cowboy Hall of Fame. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BILL CLINTON by Robert Cwiklik
BIOGRAPHY
Released: June 1, 1993

"Photos; chronology; map of the electoral college vote; index. (Biography. 9-12)"
A less-than-friendly biography with a sturdy binding but not much else going for it. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

GRANDMA'S BILL by Martin Waddell
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 1991

"Johnson's realistic illustrations nicely extend the pathos and joy of Grandma's narrative and the affection she shares with young Bill. (Picture book. 4-8)"
When Bill visits Grandma, she tells him about ``my other Bill...Your daddy's daddy,'' showing Bill a photo album that goes back to his grandfather's infancy. Read full book review >