Search Results: "Bill Miles"


BOOK REVIEW

CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 1, 2005

"The whole reads like a second draft, with clunky transitions and a diffusion of focus that drag down what could have been an enormously inspiring tale. (Nonfiction. 9-12)"
A history of Harlem's all-black regiment and its exploits in France during the Great War is marred by uneven storytelling and inadequate documentation. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

BILL GOLDSTEIN
by Mark Athitakis

In 1922 the poet Ezra Pound wrote that “the Christian Era ended at midnight on Oct. 29-30 of last year”—that is, the moment James Joyce finished writing Ulysses. Pound’s pronouncement helped stoke a kind of folk tale that has accompanied the novel ever since. Joyce unleashed his experimental masterwork, the story goes, and then the rest of the literary world ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

BILL ROORBACH
by Gregory McNamee

Bobby Mullendore, a sixth grader, has just committed the perfect crime: he’s excused himself, permanently, from school with a crafty stratagem, and now he’s on the loose, ready to enjoy a Huck Finn existence of wandering in the woods of a country estate. Alas, those woods hold other plans for him, for a man who “smelled of cologne” and “looked ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

ETERNITY  by Elizabeth Miles
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Sept. 3, 2013

"Fun to be sure, but also a case where shorter might have been sweeter—and more suspenseful. (Horror. 12 & up)"
An overall satisfying conclusion to a tale that imagines the Furies as three beautiful but terrifying supernatural sisters who thrive on vengeance against teens who they feel have done wrong. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ENVY by Elizabeth Miles
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Sept. 4, 2012

"The Furies make pleasingly vicious villains; horror fans won't want to miss this second in a planned trilogy. (Horror. 12-18)"
The Furies from Greek mythology return to terrorize high school students in this heart-pounding follow-up to 2011's Fury. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FICTION
Released: May 1, 2011

"Fans of Ellen Wittlinger and Gary Soto will be pleased to find them included in this edgy anthology for teens who dare to face the sometimes-ugly truths of life. (Short stories. 12 & up)"
Truth-telling can be dangerous, as anyone knows who's traveled the angst-filled terrain of adolescence. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

VIDEO VENGEANCE by Miles Tripp
Released: Jan. 15, 1990

The most devious, cinematic mind in all of mysterydom is at it again, now with a tale so twisty that London private-eye John Samson (The Cords of Vanity, etc.) has to resolve it several times before the truth will out. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MURDER IN RETIREMENT by John Miles
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Jan. 17, 1994

"Though the confusion of staged and real mysteries seems falsely promising early on, this turns out to be no different from dozens of other staged-murder-turned-real scenarios."
Everybody who worked with him, and quite a few people who didn't, would've loved to see J. Turner Redwine dead. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SAMSON AND THE GREEK DELILAH by Miles Tripp
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: July 1, 1996

"Long even for its modest length, though the scenery on both sides of the bedroom window is a plus."
London inquiry agent/troubleshooter John Samson rescues a damsel in distress in the south of France and spends the rest of his vacation regretting his derring-do. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Jan. 8, 2013

"The author's solid research and use of newly available material exposes the truth of the Potato Famine, the barbaric policies that exacerbated it and the incredible will of the Irish people."
Miles (Environmental Writing/Unity Coll.) builds her story around the Jeanie Johnston, the only ship fleeing the Irish Potato Famine with a 100 percent survival rate in its many Atlantic crossings. Read full book review >