Search Results: "Bill Porter"


BOOK REVIEW

PLENTY PORTER by Brandon Noonan
FAMILY AND GROWING UP
Released: May 1, 2006

"This first novel occasionally has the feel of a writing exercise, but it is also smooth and compelling reading for long stretches, even if the end doesn't adequately match the beginning and middle. (Fiction. YA)"
Plenty Porter is the youngest of 11 children ("eleven is plenty," said her parents) in rural Illinois, in this story told mostly in the first person in the years 1952-53 as Plenty approaches and then turns 13. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BILL by Chap Reaver
ANIMALS
Released: May 1, 1994

"Laced with wonderfully dry humor and pungent observations, a grand yarn that begs to be shared aloud, and again. (Fiction. 10+)"
From the late author of Mote (1990) and A Little Bit Dead (1992; both Edgar winners), an endearing story that, despite its compelling climax and some pleasingly melodramatic features, is markedly less violent than its predecessors. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SOUTH OF THE CLOUDS by Bill Porter
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Nov. 10, 2015

"As satisfying as any trip by Paul Theroux but with a much less prickly and much more forgiving narrator."
Journalist/translator and intrepid traveler Porter (Zen Baggage: A Pilgrimage to China, 2008, etc.) takes readers on another virtual journey into the China few Westerners know.Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

COLE PORTER by William McBrien
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Oct. 15, 1998

"McBrien obviously appreciates and loves his subject, but his book lacks two things needed to convey Porter's essence: wit and rue. (72 illustrations, not seen)"
A comprehensive biography that ultimately seems rather like a 400-page Cole Porter song list. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ROAD TO HEAVEN by Bill Porter
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: June 21, 1993

Porter, who as ``Red Pine'' has written several studies of Eastern religions (The Zen Teachings of Bodhidharma, 1989, etc.— not reviewed), now clambers over the Chugnan mountains of central China in search of solitary mystics and saints. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ZEN BAGGAGE by Bill Porter
NON-FICTION
Released: Dec. 1, 2008

"An erudite backpacking journey by a true dharma bum."
Peripatetic journalist and translator Porter (Road to Heaven: Encounters with Chinese Hermits, 1993) ventures again deep into the mountainous reaches of China, seeking the remote paths of the first six patriarchs of Zen Buddhism. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE SILK ROAD by Bill Porter
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Feb. 9, 2016

"Fans of Owen Lattimore, The Road to Oxiana, Aurel Stein, and other like-minded ventures and adventurers will find Porter's latest a pleasure and an inspiration."
In this latest installment in his decadeslong journey through China, Porter (South of the Clouds, 2015, etc.) wanders westward into the mountains, never quite courting danger, never quite avoiding it.Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE LOST LUGGAGE PORTER by Andrew Martin
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 1, 2008

"Stringer's third adventure (The Blackpool Highflyer, 2007, etc.) has the same engaging voice and lively splashes of historical color as his others."
An eager young railroad detective goes undercover. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: March 11, 2003

"A welcome contribution to legal and judicial history."
Cogent biography, at once admiring and damning, that amplifies and corrects the record left by the controversial Supreme Court justice in his memoirs. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BILL PICKETT by William R. Sanford
BIOGRAPHY
Released: Jan. 1, 1997

"Pickett's stunt will draw readers in initially, but his life story is inspiring enough to keep them. (Nonfiction. 9-15)"
With the superfluous subtitle ``African-American Rodeo Cowboy,'' this entry in the Legendary Heroes of the Wild West series should prove interesting not only to its targeted audience of less-able readers, but to others as well. Read full book review >