Search Results: "Bill Porter"


BOOK REVIEW

SOUTH OF THE CLOUDS by Bill Porter
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Nov. 10, 2015

"As satisfying as any trip by Paul Theroux but with a much less prickly and much more forgiving narrator."
Journalist/translator and intrepid traveler Porter (Zen Baggage: A Pilgrimage to China, 2008, etc.) takes readers on another virtual journey into the China few Westerners know.Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ROAD TO HEAVEN by Bill Porter
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: June 21, 1993

Porter, who as ``Red Pine'' has written several studies of Eastern religions (The Zen Teachings of Bodhidharma, 1989, etc.— not reviewed), now clambers over the Chugnan mountains of central China in search of solitary mystics and saints. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE SILK ROAD by Bill Porter
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Feb. 9, 2016

"Fans of Owen Lattimore, The Road to Oxiana, Aurel Stein, and other like-minded ventures and adventurers will find Porter's latest a pleasure and an inspiration."
In this latest installment in his decadeslong journey through China, Porter (South of the Clouds, 2015, etc.) wanders westward into the mountains, never quite courting danger, never quite avoiding it.Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ZEN BAGGAGE by Bill Porter
NON-FICTION
Released: Dec. 1, 2008

"An erudite backpacking journey by a true dharma bum."
Peripatetic journalist and translator Porter (Road to Heaven: Encounters with Chinese Hermits, 1993) ventures again deep into the mountainous reaches of China, seeking the remote paths of the first six patriarchs of Zen Buddhism. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE RISE AND FALL OF OSCAR THE MAGICIAN by Matthew Porter
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 4, 2015

"A fine first caper for budding fans of mystery, monkeys, or magic. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Who will be the Magician of the Year? Will honesty or treachery win the day? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FOX ON THE LOOSE! by Matthew Porter
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 14, 2014

"Here's hoping Porter gets paired up with a writer equal to his visual talents. (Board book. 18 mos.-3)"
A fox is stymied in his nocturnal prowling by a bevy of noisy barnyard animals. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TAILS CHASING TAILS by Matthew Porter
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 9, 2013

"A delightful and playful romp worthy of an enthusiastic following. (Board book. 1-3)"
In this circular tale (or tail?), readers are encouraged to guess which animal is being chased off the page. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE THUNDERBOLT EXPRESS by Matthew Porter
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 24, 2013

"A hoot for younger children fond of monkeys (not to mention, in one scene, monkeys in underpants!). (Picture book. 4-6)"
Monkeys who met previously in MonkeyWorld ABC (2012) get names as well and occupations on a thrill-a-minute train ride. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SWEET DREAMS by Sue Porter
CHILDREN'S
Released: Nov. 13, 1996

"The book comes loaded with flexible, sturdy lift-up flaps to reveal hidden places (under the bed and such), and the illustrations are cheery confections sure to keep demons at bay. (Picture book. 3-7)"
When his baby sisters and brothers arrive, a rabbit moves to a new big bed. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PINK LION by Jane Porter
by Jane Porter, illustrated by Jane Porter
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2017

"It does indeed seem that it's love that makes a family. (Picture book. 2-6)"
A story about a lion raised by flamingos and nature versus nurture. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

I'LL BE WATCHING by Pamela Porter
CLASSICS
Released: Aug. 9, 2011

"Strongly felt, if overstuffed, family drama. (Historical fiction/verse. 12-16)"
Kindness ultimately prevails, but not before hard times and ugly parochialism have their ways with several small-town residents, particularly three orphaned and then abandoned children. Read full book review >