Search Results: "Bill Ramsey"


BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Oct. 1, 1991

With werewolves now a hot fiction item (for instance, Michael Cadnum's St. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LITTLE FISH by Ramsey Beyer
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Sept. 3, 2013

"Despite its split personality, her story is easy to relate to and recommended for fans of Raina Telgemeier and Laura Lee Gulledge. (Graphic memoir. 13 & up)"
An autobiographical graphic pastiche recounts the author's experience of leaving her rural hometown and going to art school in a new city. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE LAST VOICE THEY HEAR by Ramsey Campbell
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: June 11, 1998

"You bet, though clever Ben isn't as fearsome as the savagely moronic Fancy family of Campbell's 1996 novel, The One Safe Place."
British psychothriller in the vein of Campbell's The Count of Eleven (1992) and Nazareth Hill (1997), with none of his more familiar occult horror and supernatural trimmings. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Dec. 1, 1992

"His research is impressive. (Photographs—not seen.)"
The Gulf War as Guernica: former US attorney general Clark's profoundly revisionist on-the-ground story of the war and why it occurred. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NAZARETH HILL by Ramsey Campbell
Released: June 11, 1997

"Shocking surprises, alarming horrors, and believable characters—all expertly blended in a fresh, deft shocker."
British horror novelist Campbell (The One Safe Place, 1996, etc.), expert as ever and with a knack for family chitchat amid the ghoulies, returns with the house from hell. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Jan. 3, 1996

"Rejecting the lost innocent, the victim, the heroic survivor, and other tired archetypes, Ramsey tells her story in her own way, with subtle, shattering power."
A memoir stunning in its unflinching directness and in the precision and deftness of the rememberer's descriptive voice. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

BILL GOLDSTEIN
by Mark Athitakis

In 1922 the poet Ezra Pound wrote that “the Christian Era ended at midnight on Oct. 29-30 of last year”—that is, the moment James Joyce finished writing Ulysses. Pound’s pronouncement helped stoke a kind of folk tale that has accompanied the novel ever since. Joyce unleashed his experimental masterwork, the story goes, and then the rest of the literary world ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

WORK BOOTS AND TEES by Jo Ramsey
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Oct. 1, 2015

"Embraces Jim's humanity without letting him off the hook. (Fiction. 14-18)"
Jim, convicted of raping two female classmates in High Heels and Lipstick (2015), now looks to move forward and to confront his own history.Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE ONE SAFE PLACE by Ramsey Campbell
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Aug. 1, 1996

"Deserves daring celluloid."
Perhaps Campbell's most inspired suspense novel yet, rivaling Midnight Sun (1990), though purged of horror and the supernatural. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ALL I WANT TO DO IS LIVE by Trace  Ramsey
ESSAYS & ANTHOLOGIES
Released: May 9, 2017

"A set of brave works featuring first-rate prose."
Ramsey's (Quitter, 2014) new collection of creative nonfiction and poetry takes on the topics of depression, addiction, and loss. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE COUNT OF ELEVEN by Ramsey Campbell
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: June 1, 1992

"Back to the occult, Mr. Campbell, please."
Though best known for his occult horror (Midnight Sun, 1990, etc.), Campbell built his career on psychothrillers barely tinged with the uncanny (The Doll Who Ate His Mother, 1976, etc.). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

The Deadly Tropic Snow by Tim Ramsey
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Nov. 29, 2012

"Surprisingly reflective tough guys elevate an overloaded thriller."
In this military adventure, a tight-knit team goes on a mission to find who's responsible for poisoning drug users. Read full book review >