Search Results: "Brenda J. Child"


BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Feb. 20, 2012

"A fascinating account of a resilient culture that has survived despite oppression."
In a follow-up to her prize-winning study, Boarding School Seasons: American Indian Families: 1900-1940 (2000), Child (American Studies/Univ. of Minnesota) chronicles the "history of Ojibwe community life in the Great Lakes," with special emphasis on the role of women. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: Jan. 4, 2013

"With more than a hint of being a bodice-ripper, this accomplished debut will speak to fans of historical fiction and epic novels."
The Civil War gets a supernatural assist in this blood- and sex-soaked epic, the first entry of a planned series from the husband-and-wife writing team. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Aug. 7, 2012

"A book that is comfortable to live in its own sphere of fact, evidenced by the mere datum that it takes Ann Coulter as a reputable source."
Move over, Mao Zedong. There's a big, bad, black sheriff in town who's coming to claim your title as Head Commie by overseeing "the progressive socialist takeover of our country." Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A SCHOOL FOR POMPEY WALKER by Michael J. Rosen
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 1995

The collaborators on Elijah's Angel (1992) have created a remarkable novella disguised as a picture book in which Pompey Walkera composite character made up of voices and facts drawn from different slave-narrativesreminisces for a group of children in the new elementary school bearing his name. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

7 FANTASY BOOKS HEADING TO FILM AND TV
by John DeNardo

As readers, the idea of our favorite books being turned into film and television production frightens us and excites us. It's scary because so many things can go wrong that could result in – gasp! – an unfaithful adaptation. Yet that doesn't stop us from being excited because we get to re-experience the stories we love. Here are ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

NOUMENON
by Thea James

Noumenon

Noumenon by Marina J. Lostetter

On Sale: July 2017, ISBN-13: 9780062497840

nou·me·non

ˈno͞oməˌnän

noun
(in Kantian philosophy) a thing as it is in itself, as distinct from a thing as it is knowable by the senses through phenomenal attributes.

Imagine it is the future. Not the distant future, mind you, but a close enough world in which large scale ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

WHAT PLANET ARE YOU FROM, CLARICE BEAN? by Lauren Child
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 2001

The indomitable heroine of two previous picture books returns to provide readers with her own take on environmentalism: "Nature is something I know lots about. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

I AM TOO ABSOLUTELY SMALL FOR SCHOOL by Lauren Child
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 1, 2004

"A fine way to banish those First Day jitters. (Picture book. 5-7)"
The dynamic sibling duo of I Will Never Not Ever Eat a Tomato (2000) is back for another engaging round of give-and-take. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

I WILL NEVER, NOT EVER, EAT A TOMATO by Lauren Child
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2000

"Perhaps not, but even younger readers who find Lola's stance perfectly reasonable will join her in this engagingly playful head game. (Picture book. 5-8)"
Poster child for Picky Eaters of the World, Lola declares that she won't touch carrots, peas, potatoes, fish sticks, or, most especially, tomatoes, until her brother Charlie sets her straight. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

DAVID GARROW
by Gregory McNamee

Barack Obama has been portrayed as being many things over his life and political career. Some have thought him flippant, coasting by on charm and glibness. Others have thought him suspect. Admirers and detractors both have found him aloof, though very few have doubted the fact of his formidable intelligence.

And admirers and detractors alike have also found Barack Obama ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

RUBY REDFORT LOOK INTO MY EYES by Lauren Child
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 27, 2012

"Fizzy style fails to buoy a slow-moving plot. Fans of Child's other works, however, will likely still be interested in checking this one out. (Mystery. 9-14)"
Ruby Redfort, the young sleuth in an imagined book series adored by Child's already-established character Clarice Bean, begins her very own series with this lukewarm mystery. Read full book review >