Search Results: "Bret Easton Ellis"


BOOK REVIEW

LESS THAN ZERO by Bret Easton Ellis
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 1, 1985

"In sum: a flat Cook's tour of kiddie-depravity in Lotusland—with a pounding beat, no zing, and only some marginal voyeur-interest for the insatiably curious."
The over-familiar emptiness and super-decadence of L.A.—witnessed, this time around, by a very young semi-outsider. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

IMPERIAL BEDROOMS by Bret Easton Ellis
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: June 18, 2010

"Don't hold your breath for act three."
A sequel to Less Than Zero (1985). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

GLAMORAMA by Bret Easton Ellis
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Jan. 12, 1999

"Brain candy for the Vanity Fair set."
The latest descent into the belly of the beast from Ellis (The Informers, 1994, etc.), who shows a surprising stamina for this sort of thing. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE RULES OF ATTRACTION by Bret Easton Ellis
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 17, 1987

"Without an authorial voice of any kind, it's difficult to blame Ellis himself for the shaky grammar and inept prose, but it does make you wonder."
Having yawned at hyper-decadent L.A. in Less Than Zero (1985), Ellis here seems just as bored with the ultra-hip rich kids wasting time by getting wasted at super-chic Camden College (read: Bennington) in chilled-out New England. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE INFORMERS by Bret Easton Ellis
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Aug. 25, 1994

"Who cares, Bret?"
Ellis (American Psycho, not reviewed, etc.) beats a dead horse in yet another self-consciously cool look at wealthy Los Angelenos taking drugs and having meaningless sex in the '80s. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LUNAR PARK by Bret Easton Ellis
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Aug. 1, 2005

"Even his harshest critics may now have to acknowledge that this versatile, resourceful writer has formidable skills."
For his fifth and most enjoyable novel, Ellis has found the perfect anti-hero: himself. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CANARIES AND CRIMINALS by Kelly Easton
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2002

"Staffed with likable, quirky characters and driven by issues both serious and not-so, this will leave young readers hoping for more visits to Aaron's animal-friendly world. (Fiction. 10-12)"
In a winningly oddball sequel to Trouble at Betts Pets (2002), a turtle with a map painted on its back holds the key to a series of mysterious encounters and break-ins at a pet store in a downtrodden neighborhood. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE CONTEST by Bennett Easton
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Feb. 16, 2015

"An imaginative debut with memorable characters and a pleasant dose of idealism."
In Easton's debut novel, an elderly philanthropist questions the success of her life's work and launches a worldwide contest to help solve the problems plaguing mankind. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BOYS DON'T KNIT by T.S. Easton
YOUNG ADULT
Released: March 24, 2015

"Wacky characters, a farcical plot and a fledgling romance are all part of the fun in this novel that will appeal to fans of Angus, Thongs, and Full-Frontal Snogging.(Fiction. 12-16)"
An unwilling accomplice to petty theft organized by his dim friends, English teen Ben Fletcher is annoyed that he was the one busted when he collided with a crossing guard. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TO BE MONA by Kelly Easton
FAMILY AND GROWING UP
Released: Nov. 25, 2008

Sage Priestly can't tell anyone about her mother's dramatically erratic behavior. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

AFTERSHOCK by Kelly Easton
ADVENTURE
Released: Nov. 1, 2006

"Characterizations become blurred, and readers will flip the pages quickly to get to the good stuff. (Fiction. YA)"
Prince William-like pretty boy Adam survives the grisly car accident that kills both of his parents during the return leg of a cross-country excursion from Rhode Island to Oregon. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

JOAN CRAWFORD by David Bret
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Jan. 1, 2007

"Bedroom noir."
A flat, superficial biography that obsesses over Crawford's sex life as intensely as Crawford reportedly obsessed over having sex. Read full book review >