Search Results: "Brian Haberlin"


BOOK REVIEW

ANOMALY by Skip  Brittenham
IPAD BOOK APPS
Released: Nov. 20, 2012

"An exemplary app, deserving of a wide audience—and almost sure to get it. (iPad 2 & above)"
This superbly well-crafted sci-fi epic is massive in scope and scale—and takes up the disk space to prove it. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BETWEEN WORLDS by Skip  Brittenham
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 30, 2016

"This fantasy relies on technology to stand out. (Fantasy. 10-14)"
Teen misfits accidentally discover a portal to a dangerous fantasy world in this immersive book/app combo. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

I CAME, I DANCED, I WENT VIRAL
by Jennie K.

BOOK REPORT for Deacon Locke Went to Prom by Brian Katcher

Cover Story: Puttin’ On The Ritz
BFF Charm: Let Me Love You
Swoonworthy Scale: 5
Talky Talk: I Came, I Danced, I Went Viral
Bonus Factors: Kick-Ass Gram, Internet Fame
Relationship Status: Drinking Buddy

Cover Story: Puttin’ On The Ritz

This cover is great: it screams “prom,” but ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

BATS IN THE BAND by Brian Lies
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 5, 2014

"Again with the bats, evoking another call of 'encore!' (Picture book. 4-8)"
Yet more bats tumble from Lies' belfry, this time to ignite a darkened summer theater with the gift of music. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

EVERYTHING GOES:  ON LAND by Brian Biggs
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2011

"A glory ride for young car, truck, train, bus and trolley devotees. (Informational picture book. 4-6)
"
In a visual feast for fans of wheeled vehicles large and small, Biggs presents a series of high-density street scenes done in an amiably rumpled cartoon style. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BATS AT THE BEACH by Brian Lies
ANIMALS
Released: June 19, 2006

"Perfect for sharing with younglings of the wingless sort, when it's time for them to do the same. (Picture book. 5-7)"
Gathering up "our buckets, trowels, / banjoes, blankets, books, and towels," a family of bats flits out to the beach for a moonlit picnic of "yummy treats"—"Beetles, ants, and milkweed bugs, / crickets, moths, and pickled slugs. / Damselflies, or salted 'skeeters— / no room here for picky eaters!" Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE HOUDINI BOX by Brian Selznick
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 1991

"A historical note is appended. (Fiction/Young Reader. 6-10)"
A fervent admirer of Houdini, ten-year-old Victor tries to emulate his feats, but to no avail: getting out of locked trunks and holding his breath for 5000 seconds are beyond his powers. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

I'M A VETERINARIAN by Brian Biggs
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 6, 2016

"Little ones will enjoy meeting the professionals of Tinyville and seeing familiar faces across the series. (Board book. 2-4)"
A vet gives readers a first-person account of a day at the animal clinic. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE MARVELS by Brian Selznick
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 15, 2015

"Time, grief, forgiveness, and love intersect in epic theater celebrating mysteries of the heart and spirit. (notes) (Fiction. 10 & up)"
In the final volume of a trilogy connected by theme, structural innovation, and exquisite visual storytelling, Selznick challenges readers to see. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

EVERYTHING GOES: STOP! GO! by Brian Biggs
CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 1, 2013

"Here's hoping more Everything Goes board books are en route. (Board book. 18 mos.-3)"
A delightfully playful exploration of vehicles and opposites. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WONDERSTRUCK by Brian Selznick
FAMILY AND GROWING UP
Released: Sept. 13, 2011

"Visually stunning, completely compelling, Wonderstruck demonstrates a mastery and maturity that proves that, yes, lightning can strike twice. (Historical fiction. 9 & up)"
Brian Selznick didn't have to do it. Read full book review >