Search Results: "Brian A. Catlos"


BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Aug. 26, 2014

"A vivid history of 'the collaboration and integration of the Muslim, Jewish, and Christian peoples of the Mediterranean that laid the foundation for the modern world.'"
A dramatic review of Mediterranean history in the Middle Ages. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: May 1, 2009

"Uneven but engaging."
A fast-paced but disjointed debut about the 2002 coup against Venezuelan president Hugo Chávez. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

AN ESSENTIAL DECEPTION by Brian A Tucker
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 30, 2013

"A truly impressive thriller debut in the vein of Dan Brown's The Da Vinci Code."
In this sprawling international thriller, an ancient secret society seeks domination over Western governments. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE PROMISED LAND by Brian A. Curtis
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 22, 2013

"An original concept that yields a commendable, approachable reworking of the ancient Hebrew Scriptures."
An ambitious reordering of the Hebrew Bible. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: April 1, 1998

"A story of a little known American achievement that played an essential role in containing hostilities during the Cold War. (63 b&w photos, 13 line illustrations, not seen)"
A history of the top secret CORONA spy satellite missions (not officially revealed until 1992), believed by many experts to be the most important modern development in intelligence gathering. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

I CAME, I DANCED, I WENT VIRAL
by Jennie K.

BOOK REPORT for Deacon Locke Went to Prom by Brian Katcher

Cover Story: Puttin’ On The Ritz
BFF Charm: Let Me Love You
Swoonworthy Scale: 5
Talky Talk: I Came, I Danced, I Went Viral
Bonus Factors: Kick-Ass Gram, Internet Fame
Relationship Status: Drinking Buddy

Cover Story: Puttin’ On The Ritz

This cover is great: it screams “prom,” but ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

BATS IN THE BAND by Brian Lies
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 5, 2014

"Again with the bats, evoking another call of 'encore!' (Picture book. 4-8)"
Yet more bats tumble from Lies' belfry, this time to ignite a darkened summer theater with the gift of music. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

EVERYTHING GOES:  ON LAND by Brian Biggs
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2011

"A glory ride for young car, truck, train, bus and trolley devotees. (Informational picture book. 4-6)
"
In a visual feast for fans of wheeled vehicles large and small, Biggs presents a series of high-density street scenes done in an amiably rumpled cartoon style. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BATS AT THE BEACH by Brian Lies
ANIMALS
Released: June 19, 2006

"Perfect for sharing with younglings of the wingless sort, when it's time for them to do the same. (Picture book. 5-7)"
Gathering up "our buckets, trowels, / banjoes, blankets, books, and towels," a family of bats flits out to the beach for a moonlit picnic of "yummy treats"—"Beetles, ants, and milkweed bugs, / crickets, moths, and pickled slugs. / Damselflies, or salted 'skeeters— / no room here for picky eaters!" Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE HOUDINI BOX by Brian Selznick
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 1991

"A historical note is appended. (Fiction/Young Reader. 6-10)"
A fervent admirer of Houdini, ten-year-old Victor tries to emulate his feats, but to no avail: getting out of locked trunks and holding his breath for 5000 seconds are beyond his powers. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

I'M A VETERINARIAN by Brian Biggs
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 6, 2016

"Little ones will enjoy meeting the professionals of Tinyville and seeing familiar faces across the series. (Board book. 2-4)"
A vet gives readers a first-person account of a day at the animal clinic. Read full book review >