Search Results: "Brian A. Curtis"


BOOK REVIEW

THE PROMISED LAND by Brian A. Curtis
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 22, 2013

"An original concept that yields a commendable, approachable reworking of the ancient Hebrew Scriptures."
An ambitious reordering of the Hebrew Bible. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FIELDS OF BATTLE by Brian Curtis
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Sept. 27, 2016

"A fine sports book with a stirring extra dimension."
A veteran sports journalist revisits "the most unusual yet meaningful Rose Bowl Game" ever. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: May 1, 2009

"Uneven but engaging."
A fast-paced but disjointed debut about the 2002 coup against Venezuelan president Hugo Chávez. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

AN ESSENTIAL DECEPTION by Brian A Tucker
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 30, 2013

"A truly impressive thriller debut in the vein of Dan Brown's The Da Vinci Code."
In this sprawling international thriller, an ancient secret society seeks domination over Western governments. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Aug. 26, 2014

"A vivid history of 'the collaboration and integration of the Muslim, Jewish, and Christian peoples of the Mediterranean that laid the foundation for the modern world.'"
A dramatic review of Mediterranean history in the Middle Ages. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

I CAME, I DANCED, I WENT VIRAL
by Jennie K.

BOOK REPORT for Deacon Locke Went to Prom by Brian Katcher

Cover Story: Puttin’ On The Ritz
BFF Charm: Let Me Love You
Swoonworthy Scale: 5
Talky Talk: I Came, I Danced, I Went Viral
Bonus Factors: Kick-Ass Gram, Internet Fame
Relationship Status: Drinking Buddy

Cover Story: Puttin’ On The Ritz

This cover is great: it screams “prom,” but ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

BIG BROTHER, LITTLE BROTHER by Marci Curtis
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 1, 2004

"Why bicker when there's enough room on the skateboard for two and a frosted donut for every mouth? (Picture book. 3-6)"
This gathering of brothers—sharply etched, bright photographs of pairs of them, younger and older, multicultural—celebrates harmony with nary a discord in sight (minor differences of opinion are of the most benign sort). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

AMERICAN WIFE by Curtis Sittenfeld
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 2, 2008

"This fictional first lady is a wimp and her husband a lightweight. So what's new?"
An elementary-school librarian marries the least promising son of an old-moneyed, intensely competitive Republican family and sticks by him as he rises from hard-drinking fool to unpopular U.S. President in this roman à clef from Sittenfeld (The Man of My Dreams, 2006, etc.). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Nov. 1, 2008

"Bittersweet window into a privileged yet insecure upbringing."
FDR's eldest grandson nostalgically recounts his childhood growing up in close proximity to his charismatic grandparents. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PREP by Curtis Sittenfeld
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 18, 2005

"Teenaged years served up without sugar: a class act."
A witty, involving boarding-school drama from Seventeen magazine award-winner Sittenfeld. Read full book review >