Search Results: "Brian Castner"


BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: July 10, 2012

"Scarifying stuff, without any mawkishness or dumb machismo—not quite on the level of Jarhead, but absolutely worth reading."
"The first thing you should know about me is that I'm Crazy." So begins this affecting tale of a modern war and its home-front consequences. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: March 1, 2016

"A must-read for military buffs and a should-read for anyone who has given even a cursory thought to the U.S. efforts in Afghanistan and Iraq."
The search for the story behind an IED death leads to the history of the post-9/11 wars and the lives of the men and women who fight them. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE ROAD AHEAD by Adrian Bonenberger
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 17, 2017

"These stories provide plenty of revelation on the nature of the war and the soldiers who continue to fight it."
An anthology of stories covering a literary terrain as expansive as the seemingly endless "war on terror" that spawned it. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DAUGHTERS OF RUIN by K.D. Castner
YOUNG ADULT
Released: April 5, 2016

"The slow, confusing opening does no favors, but eventually things speed up; anyone who makes it through the midpoint will end eager to see what happens next. (Fantasy. 12-16)"
Another book in the constant stream of read-alikes for Game of Thrones, with an actual body count. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

I CAME, I DANCED, I WENT VIRAL
by Jennie K.

BOOK REPORT for Deacon Locke Went to Prom by Brian Katcher

Cover Story: Puttin’ On The Ritz
BFF Charm: Let Me Love You
Swoonworthy Scale: 5
Talky Talk: I Came, I Danced, I Went Viral
Bonus Factors: Kick-Ass Gram, Internet Fame
Relationship Status: Drinking Buddy

Cover Story: Puttin’ On The Ritz

This cover is great: it screams “prom,” but ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

WON'T YOU TAKE ME TO WASHINGTON
by Jennie K.

BOOK REPORT for The Improbable Theory of Ana and Zak by Brian Katcher

Cover Story: Montell Jordan

BFF Charm: Yay x 2

Swoonworthy Scale: 7

Talky Talk: LOL IRL

Bonus Factors: Sci-Fi Convention, 24 Hours

Relationship Status: Casablanca

 

Cover Story: Montell Jordan

This cover is so cute—pixelated Ana and Zak! Math! The implied promise that Ana and Zak are ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

OWL BOY by Brian Schatell
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 15, 2015

"An offbeat tale about following your dreams, no matter where they might lead (though older readers will note the cautionary tale of taking your passions a bit too far). (Picture book. 3-7)"
Al loves owls. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

EVERYTHING GOES: GOOD NIGHT, TRUCKS by Brian Biggs
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 25, 2013

"Sweet dreams for young truck lovers. (Board book. 18 mos.-3)"
A collection of trucks call it a night. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LIL' RED by Brian  Main
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 27, 2012

"In a sea of interactive homogeny, this is a rare gem. (for iPad 2 and above) (iPad storybook app. 1-5)"
A refreshingly distinctive take on the classic European fairy tale. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE PRINCE'S NEW PET by Brian Anderson
ANIMALS
Released: Dec. 6, 2011

"Creepy, kooky and deftly delivered, this dark story offers a bright ending for readers who might think they've just outgrown fairy tales. (Picture book. 5-10)"
When the Queen died and her bereft king banished color from the kingdom, Prince Viridian's world turned the gloomiest gray. A mysterious present (a cute, colorful creature called a wooglefoof) crashes his birthday party and changes all that, spiriting its garish stripes across the castle and sending the king's Color Snatcher in fiendish, feverish pursuit. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BATS AT THE BALLGAME by Brian Lies
ANIMALS
Released: Sept. 1, 2010

"But as a read-aloud by a baseball fan, it's sure to inspire a love of the game—and maybe of bats as well. (Picture book. 5-8)"
Previously Lies has given his bats nights at the library and the beach with great success. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HUSH, LITTLE BABY by Brian Pinkney
CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 1, 2006

"The music for the lullaby is included on the back cover. (author's note) (Picture book. 2-7)"
This traditional American lullaby is gracefully interpreted in Pinkney's distinctive style, showing a 1900s-era African-American family working together to hush their baby, a solemn little girl two or three years old. Read full book review >