Search Results: "Brian Cox"


BOOK REVIEW

UNIVERSAL by Brian Cox
NON-FICTION
Released: April 1, 2017

"Many readers will settle for the magic show, but those who choose to pore over the authors' explanations and perhaps take a pencil and paper to follow along will gain a more significant understanding of some profound cosmological phenomena."
Two physicists lead a tour of our universe and explain how we can better understand it by "doing science." Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR

"A brief but edifying remembrance that's filled with poignant personal reflection, as well as moments of international adventure."
A personal memoir about a man's difficult relationship with his father, his search for enlightenment, and his obsession with tennis. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Feb. 15, 2012

"An ambitious explanation of the vast quantum universe aimed at readers willing to work."
Quantum physics describes how everything (not just subatomic particles) works, but even experts agree that no one truly understands it. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ELIZABETH, QUEEN OF THE SEAS by Lynne Cox
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 13, 2014

"A lovely if incomplete story of animals and humans living together. (author's note) (Picture book. 5-9)"
Can you imagine living in a city with an enormous elephant seal in residence? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

IS THAT YOU, MONSTER? by Steve Cox
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 2013

"An interchangeable knockoff but still tailor-made to spark bursts of delighted nighttime screaming. (Novelty/picture book. 4-7)"
In a barely disguised remake of Is That You, Wolf? (2012), intrepid readers are invited to stick their hands into a series of pockets…and feel what lies within. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

IS THAT YOU, ALIEN? by Steve Cox
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 1, 2014

"A labored effort to squeeze a little more juice from a once-fresh gimmick. (Novelty. 5-7)"
Intrepid readers who don't mind slipping their hands into places without looking will get what they deserve from this backyard hunt for aliens. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

I CAME, I DANCED, I WENT VIRAL
by Jennie K.

BOOK REPORT for Deacon Locke Went to Prom by Brian Katcher

Cover Story: Puttin’ On The Ritz
BFF Charm: Let Me Love You
Swoonworthy Scale: 5
Talky Talk: I Came, I Danced, I Went Viral
Bonus Factors: Kick-Ass Gram, Internet Fame
Relationship Status: Drinking Buddy

Cover Story: Puttin’ On The Ritz

This cover is great: it screams “prom,” but ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

WHEN THE SUN SHINES THROUGH by Allan Cox
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 16, 2014

"Creative inspiration for poetry novices, small groups and those who are burned out by the business world."
In this spare volume of poetry and reflection, Cox ("Whoa! Are They Glad You're in Their Lives?" 2013, etc.) encourages creativity in the corporate world and beyond. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE WAGES OF SIN by Sarah Cox
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Oct. 1, 2009

"Cox lavishes attention on the murders' visceral details at the expense of the investigation's deductive details."
DS Matt Arnold (Blood Is Thicker, 2008) faces the effects of his son's injury while grappling with a serial killer whose signature defies belief.Home in London is no haven for DS Arnold, whose wife Jo barely speaks to him. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A RING OF TRUTH by Michelle Cox
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: April 4, 2017

"An engaging and effective romp rich with historical details."
In this second installment of a mystery series, a young woman navigates her future with her fiance and the unfriendly world of the upper class. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NIGHT TALK by Elizabeth Cox
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 1, 1997

"An affecting celebration of the resilience of friendship, but undercut by its stock characters, who, despite nods to Faulkner and other southern greats, remain flat and unsurprising."
Friendship across the great racial divide of the South is sensitively addressed in a novel that tries too hard to make a moving tale profound. Read full book review >