Search Results: "Brian Katcher"


BOOK REVIEW

PLAYING WITH MATCHES by Brian Katcher
FICTION
Released: July 8, 2008

"In the spirit of Chris Crutcher's Staying Fat for Sarah Byrnes (1993) and David Yoo's Girls for Breakfast (2005), this tender, funny debut is 'dude lit' at its best. (Fiction. YA)"
A loner goes from hero to zero after dating and dumping the school outcast. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE IMPROBABLE THEORY OF ANA AND ZAK by Brian Katcher
YOUNG ADULT
Released: May 19, 2015

"Fans of Nick and Norah's Infinite Playlist will find con-tentment here. (Fiction. 13-18)"
Two teens discover that their improbable chemistry is just what it takes for a probable relationship. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ALMOST PERFECT by Brian Katcher
FAMILY AND GROWING UP
Released: Oct. 13, 2009

"An excellent companion piece to Ellen Wittlinger's Parrotfish (2007) and Jean Ferris's Eight Seconds (2000). (Fiction. 14 & up)"
Katcher flawlessly channels the worried and confused voice of a straight teenage boy in this honest and uncompromising take on transgender love. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DEACON LOCKE WENT TO PROM by Brian Katcher
YOUNG ADULT
Released: May 9, 2017

"A sweet though sometimes obvious lesson on staying true to oneself. (Fiction. 12-16)"
Deacon's decision to take his grandmother to his senior prom results in unexpected fame. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BRIAN NINE by Craig L. DeLue
Released: Dec. 12, 2011

"DeLue proves to be a wizard of his craft as he builds Carpella into a world imbued with natural human emotion, savory plotlines, memorable characters, history-changing situations, a fight for freedom and everlasting glory in this epic page-turner."
In DeLue's debut, teenagers Brian Nine and Will Star are onboard a spaceship when a bolt of lightning causes an accidental launch and the subsequent discovery of a new, inhabited planet. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BRIAN BORU by Morgan Llywelyn
FICTION
Released: June 1, 1995

"A satisfying tale of majesty and magic. (b&w illustrations, not seen) (Fiction. 12+)"
Adapted from the author's bestselling adult title Lion of Ireland (1980), about the charismatic man who united the Irish under his rule in the tenth century. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BRIAN JONES by Paul Trynka
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Oct. 9, 2014

"An intimate portrait of the multifaceted and beguiling Jones, who forever changed popular music and culture."
A lively biography of the enigmatic founder of the Rolling Stones, who was dethroned and died just as the band approached its artistic peak. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIG BRAVE BRIAN by M.P. Robertson
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 15, 2007

"This fits well into the pantheon of scary stories for younger children. (Picture book. 4-7)"
Big Brave Brian tackles common childhood fears: Something is under the bed or something is in the closet, for example. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

I AM BRIAN WILSON by Brian Wilson
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Oct. 11, 2016

"As a study in creativity, superb, though as memoir, partial and a touch reluctant. Whatever the case, essential for any Beach Boys fan."
Everyone's favorite musical mad scientist reveals a troubled yet hopeful life. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BRIAN IN THREE SEASONS by Patricia Grossman
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 1, 2005

"Deftly done."
The neatly ordered days of a gay man in New York are disrupted by his irascible father's illness. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BRIAN AND BOB by Georgie Ripper
ANIMALS
Released: Sept. 1, 2003

"Then they get back to doing what they do best: snoozing, hanging out at the food bowl, and looking around—la dolce vita. (Picture book. 2-5)"
An improbable tale, but a happily-ever-after one, so young readers will suspend their disbelief as they pull for the reunion of Ripper's guinea pig protagonists. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BRIAN BANANA DUCK SUNSHINE YELLOW by Chris McKimmie
CHILDREN'S
Released: July 1, 2007

"The hues aren't quite as vibrant as Chris Raschka's, but the sensibility is as authentically childlike. (Picture book. 5-7)"
In this color-themed import from Australia, a lad sporting a tied-on duck's bill and a yellow cap describes the pleasures of going to (and getting lost in) the supermarket with his "Na-na," who calls him "Banana," taking a walk with his "Grumpy" and flying off in search of a giant yellow duck. Read full book review >