Search Results: "Brian Katcher"


BOOK REVIEW

THE IMPROBABLE THEORY OF ANA AND ZAK by Brian Katcher
YOUNG ADULT
Released: May 19, 2015

"Fans of Nick and Norah's Infinite Playlist will find con-tentment here. (Fiction. 13-18)"
Two teens discover that their improbable chemistry is just what it takes for a probable relationship. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PLAYING WITH MATCHES by Brian Katcher
FICTION
Released: July 8, 2008

"In the spirit of Chris Crutcher's Staying Fat for Sarah Byrnes (1993) and David Yoo's Girls for Breakfast (2005), this tender, funny debut is 'dude lit' at its best. (Fiction. YA)"
A loner goes from hero to zero after dating and dumping the school outcast. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ALMOST PERFECT by Brian Katcher
FAMILY AND GROWING UP
Released: Oct. 13, 2009

"An excellent companion piece to Ellen Wittlinger's Parrotfish (2007) and Jean Ferris's Eight Seconds (2000). (Fiction. 14 & up)"
Katcher flawlessly channels the worried and confused voice of a straight teenage boy in this honest and uncompromising take on transgender love. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DEACON LOCKE WENT TO PROM by Brian Katcher
YOUNG ADULT
Released: May 9, 2017

"A sweet though sometimes obvious lesson on staying true to oneself. (Fiction. 12-16)"
Deacon's decision to take his grandmother to his senior prom results in unexpected fame. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

I CAME, I DANCED, I WENT VIRAL
by Jennie K.

BOOK REPORT for Deacon Locke Went to Prom by Brian Katcher

Cover Story: Puttin’ On The Ritz
BFF Charm: Let Me Love You
Swoonworthy Scale: 5
Talky Talk: I Came, I Danced, I Went Viral
Bonus Factors: Kick-Ass Gram, Internet Fame
Relationship Status: Drinking Buddy

Cover Story: Puttin’ On The Ritz

This cover is great: it screams “prom,” but ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: Nov. 10, 1999

"To that end, extensive notes on sources and further reading is included. (Nonfiction. 10+)"
Self-taught painter Monceaux (Jazz: My Music, My People, 1994) follows up his first book with this collection of African- American and Native American figures from the American West. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE MARVELS by Brian Selznick
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 15, 2015

"Time, grief, forgiveness, and love intersect in epic theater celebrating mysteries of the heart and spirit. (notes) (Fiction. 10 & up)"
In the final volume of a trilogy connected by theme, structural innovation, and exquisite visual storytelling, Selznick challenges readers to see. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

EVERYTHING GOES: STOP! GO! by Brian Biggs
CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 1, 2013

"Here's hoping more Everything Goes board books are en route. (Board book. 18 mos.-3)"
A delightfully playful exploration of vehicles and opposites. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WONDERSTRUCK by Brian Selznick
FAMILY AND GROWING UP
Released: Sept. 13, 2011

"Visually stunning, completely compelling, Wonderstruck demonstrates a mastery and maturity that proves that, yes, lightning can strike twice. (Historical fiction. 9 & up)"
Brian Selznick didn't have to do it. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY
Released: March 1, 2000

"Difficult to place, since it is cataloged in nonfiction, but is filled with fiction, this will appeal to dinosaur fans willing to accept made-up conversations because the story is a compelling one. (Nonfiction. 10-12)"
In 1922 Roy Chapman Andrews, noted dinosaur hunter from the Museum of Natural History, and a team of fossil hunters; set off for Outer Mongolia to discover evidence of human origin in Asia. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HOME ON THE RANGE by Brian Ajhar
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2004

"But the cattle have mobile, expressive countenances, and even children already home on the range will respond to the ditty's eminently singable sentiment. (Picture book. 5-7)"
Leaving behind a bedroom strewn with elaborately detailed toys, a New York lad clad in a Stetson and pj's rides his rocking horse out west for some riding and roping "where the skies are not cloudy all day." Read full book review >