Search Results: "Brian Keaney"


BOOK REVIEW

JACOB’S LADDER by Brian Keaney
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 2007

"Read The Giver instead. (Fantasy. 11-13)"
This adventure starts off strong but dwindles to didactic metaphor. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FICTION
Released: Dec. 9, 2008

"Muddled, confusing and poorly paced, with a shocker ending, this might sate fans of the first volume but won't win new ones. (Fantasy. 12-16)"
After a promising opening volume (dystopic government, plucky teens, rebellion), Keaney switches gears with volume two, which features angels and demon-like possession and sadly lacks any character or world development. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ADVENTURE
Released: Nov. 10, 2009

"Keaney displays some interesting if bleak ideas; it's to be hoped that next time he can do them justice. (Fantasy. 12-16)"
Coincidence, magic, angels, demons and flat characters muddle through the third and final volume of this series. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FICTION
Released: Sept. 25, 2007

"Those who enjoy books like The Giver or the Uglies trilogy will want to give this a try, and will be drawn into the world enough to wait for the action despite some inconsistencies of time line and backstory. (author's note) (Fantasy. YA)"
Dystopia and allusions to The Divine Comedy make for a heady combination, but much of this first-in-a-trilogy fails to go beyond setup. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

I CAME, I DANCED, I WENT VIRAL
by Jennie K.

BOOK REPORT for Deacon Locke Went to Prom by Brian Katcher

Cover Story: Puttin’ On The Ritz
BFF Charm: Let Me Love You
Swoonworthy Scale: 5
Talky Talk: I Came, I Danced, I Went Viral
Bonus Factors: Kick-Ass Gram, Internet Fame
Relationship Status: Drinking Buddy

Cover Story: Puttin’ On The Ritz

This cover is great: it screams “prom,” but ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

WON'T YOU TAKE ME TO WASHINGTON
by Jennie K.

BOOK REPORT for The Improbable Theory of Ana and Zak by Brian Katcher

Cover Story: Montell Jordan

BFF Charm: Yay x 2

Swoonworthy Scale: 7

Talky Talk: LOL IRL

Bonus Factors: Sci-Fi Convention, 24 Hours

Relationship Status: Casablanca

 

Cover Story: Montell Jordan

This cover is so cute—pixelated Ana and Zak! Math! The implied promise that Ana and Zak are ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

BATS IN THE BAND by Brian Lies
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 5, 2014

"Again with the bats, evoking another call of 'encore!' (Picture book. 4-8)"
Yet more bats tumble from Lies' belfry, this time to ignite a darkened summer theater with the gift of music. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

EVERYTHING GOES:  ON LAND by Brian Biggs
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2011

"A glory ride for young car, truck, train, bus and trolley devotees. (Informational picture book. 4-6)
"
In a visual feast for fans of wheeled vehicles large and small, Biggs presents a series of high-density street scenes done in an amiably rumpled cartoon style. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BATS AT THE BEACH by Brian Lies
ANIMALS
Released: June 19, 2006

"Perfect for sharing with younglings of the wingless sort, when it's time for them to do the same. (Picture book. 5-7)"
Gathering up "our buckets, trowels, / banjoes, blankets, books, and towels," a family of bats flits out to the beach for a moonlit picnic of "yummy treats"—"Beetles, ants, and milkweed bugs, / crickets, moths, and pickled slugs. / Damselflies, or salted 'skeeters— / no room here for picky eaters!" Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE HOUDINI BOX by Brian Selznick
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 1991

"A historical note is appended. (Fiction/Young Reader. 6-10)"
A fervent admirer of Houdini, ten-year-old Victor tries to emulate his feats, but to no avail: getting out of locked trunks and holding his breath for 5000 seconds are beyond his powers. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

I'M A VETERINARIAN by Brian Biggs
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 6, 2016

"Little ones will enjoy meeting the professionals of Tinyville and seeing familiar faces across the series. (Board book. 2-4)"
A vet gives readers a first-person account of a day at the animal clinic. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

I'M A POLICE OFFICER  by Brian Biggs
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 1, 2017

"A worthy introduction to the concept of police officers. (Board book. 1-3)"
Little readers learn about the police force. Read full book review >