Search Results: "Brian Leung"


BOOK REVIEW

TAKE ME HOME by Brian Leung
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 1, 2010

"An engaging and beguiling novel about prejudice, relationships and the possibilities of redemption."
The "home" of the title is the minuscule (and aptly named) settlement of Dire, Wyo., where Addie Maine revisits a locus of love and loss 40 years after the tragic events that had transpired there. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WORLD FAMOUS LOVE ACTS by Brian Leung
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: April 1, 2004

"With quiet sureness, first-timer Leung offers stories almost radical in their humane inclusiveness."
Eleven elegiac debut stories, winner of the 2002 Mary McCarthy Prize, about the fragility of people's connections both to one another and to their roots. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LOST MEN by Brian Leung
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: June 1, 2007

"A patient, artfully controlled work about memory, regret and love."
A father and son travel to China in an attempt to bridge their 25-year estrangement in Leung's debut novel (World Famous Love Acts: Stories, 2004). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE PIRATE GIRL'S TREASURE by Peyton Leung
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2012

"To call this origami tale an 'adventure' is a stretch to say the least. (Picture book. 4-8)"
An interesting idea suffers from an unimaginative presentation. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A TAIL OF CAMELOT by Julie Leung
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 4, 2016

"A winning new adventure featuring a stalwart warrior mouse, heroic knights, and magical Camelot. (Animal Fantasy. 8-12)"
A "brave, strong, and wise" mouse plays a pivotal part defending Camelot and its inhabitants. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE LEGEND OF NINJA COWBOY BEAR by David Bruins
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2009

"The game at the back (a version of rock, paper, scissors substituting the characters) will have children hopping up for their own competitions. (Picture book. 4-7)"
Once there were three best friends: a ninja, a cowboy and a bear, and they did everything together. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

VOYAGE TO AVALON by Julie Leung
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 3, 2017

"More suspenseful, enthralling mouse-eye perspective on the Camelot legend. (Animal fantasy. 8-12)"
In this sequel to A Tail of Camelot (2016), a mysterious plague threatens Camelot, forcing warrior mouse Calib Christopher to embark on a perilous mission to the magical isle of Avalon while young Two-Legger Galahad faces a formidable foe in King Arthur's malevolent nephew. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NINJA COWBOY BEAR PRESENTS THE CALL OF THE COWBOY by David Bruins
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2011

"So far, the ninja and the cowboy have received time in the spotlight; fans will be anticipating the bear's entry, which is sure to follow. (Picture book. 2-6)"
Three good friends (who have been optioned for an animated series) experience friction but work it all out. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NINJA COWBOY BEAR PRESENTS THE WAY OF THE NINJA by David Bruins
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2010

"The simple message of the plusses of cooperative play will be embraced by audiences who are likely still playing the hand game featured in the first adventure. (Picture book. 4-7)"

BLOG POST

I CAME, I DANCED, I WENT VIRAL
by Jennie K.

BOOK REPORT for Deacon Locke Went to Prom by Brian Katcher

Cover Story: Puttin’ On The Ritz
BFF Charm: Let Me Love You
Swoonworthy Scale: 5
Talky Talk: I Came, I Danced, I Went Viral
Bonus Factors: Kick-Ass Gram, Internet Fame
Relationship Status: Drinking Buddy

Cover Story: Puttin’ On The Ritz

This cover is great: it screams “prom,” but ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

WON'T YOU TAKE ME TO WASHINGTON
by Jennie K.

BOOK REPORT for The Improbable Theory of Ana and Zak by Brian Katcher

Cover Story: Montell Jordan

BFF Charm: Yay x 2

Swoonworthy Scale: 7

Talky Talk: LOL IRL

Bonus Factors: Sci-Fi Convention, 24 Hours

Relationship Status: Casablanca

 

Cover Story: Montell Jordan

This cover is so cute—pixelated Ana and Zak! Math! The implied promise that Ana and Zak are ...


Read the full post >