Search Results: "Brian McLachlan"


BOOK REVIEW

DRAW OUT THE STORY by Brian McLachlan
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 15, 2013

"Advanced cartoonists may prefer a longer book, like McCloud's, but this book has all the secrets beginners might need. (Nonfiction. 8-12)"
People are always asking writers, "Where do you get your ideas?" This book actually answers the question. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WHAT NOISE DO I MAKE? by Brian McLachlan
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 15, 2016

"McLachlan shows an astute understanding of how to produce belly laughs in the young; this funny read-aloud would also be a terrific prelude to a zoo visit. (Picture book. 1-3)"
Canadian artist McLachlan creates a new twist on the often pedestrian visualizations of animal noises depicted in many picture books in this genre. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LOVE BOMB by Jenny McLachlan
YOUNG ADULT
Released: April 26, 2016

"A sweet mother-daughter tale. (Fiction. 12-14)"
Betty, just turning 15, lost her mother to cancer when she was a toddler. Now she thinks she's in love for the first time. Can she still get advice from Mum? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FLIRTY DANCING by Jenny McLachlan
YOUNG ADULT
Released: April 28, 2015

"Spunky fun. (Fiction. 12-18)"
In this debut, a shy girl finds herself thrown, literally, into the arms of her dream boy, the boyfriend of a girl who's bullying her. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

I CAME, I DANCED, I WENT VIRAL
by Jennie K.

BOOK REPORT for Deacon Locke Went to Prom by Brian Katcher

Cover Story: Puttin’ On The Ritz
BFF Charm: Let Me Love You
Swoonworthy Scale: 5
Talky Talk: I Came, I Danced, I Went Viral
Bonus Factors: Kick-Ass Gram, Internet Fame
Relationship Status: Drinking Buddy

Cover Story: Puttin’ On The Ritz

This cover is great: it screams “prom,” but ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

WON'T YOU TAKE ME TO WASHINGTON
by Jennie K.

BOOK REPORT for The Improbable Theory of Ana and Zak by Brian Katcher

Cover Story: Montell Jordan

BFF Charm: Yay x 2

Swoonworthy Scale: 7

Talky Talk: LOL IRL

Bonus Factors: Sci-Fi Convention, 24 Hours

Relationship Status: Casablanca

 

Cover Story: Montell Jordan

This cover is so cute—pixelated Ana and Zak! Math! The implied promise that Ana and Zak are ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

OWL BOY by Brian Schatell
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 15, 2015

"An offbeat tale about following your dreams, no matter where they might lead (though older readers will note the cautionary tale of taking your passions a bit too far). (Picture book. 3-7)"
Al loves owls. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

EVERYTHING GOES: GOOD NIGHT, TRUCKS by Brian Biggs
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 25, 2013

"Sweet dreams for young truck lovers. (Board book. 18 mos.-3)"
A collection of trucks call it a night. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LIL' RED by Brian  Main
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 27, 2012

"In a sea of interactive homogeny, this is a rare gem. (for iPad 2 and above) (iPad storybook app. 1-5)"
A refreshingly distinctive take on the classic European fairy tale. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE PRINCE'S NEW PET by Brian Anderson
ANIMALS
Released: Dec. 6, 2011

"Creepy, kooky and deftly delivered, this dark story offers a bright ending for readers who might think they've just outgrown fairy tales. (Picture book. 5-10)"
When the Queen died and her bereft king banished color from the kingdom, Prince Viridian's world turned the gloomiest gray. A mysterious present (a cute, colorful creature called a wooglefoof) crashes his birthday party and changes all that, spiriting its garish stripes across the castle and sending the king's Color Snatcher in fiendish, feverish pursuit. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BATS AT THE BALLGAME by Brian Lies
ANIMALS
Released: Sept. 1, 2010

"But as a read-aloud by a baseball fan, it's sure to inspire a love of the game—and maybe of bats as well. (Picture book. 5-8)"
Previously Lies has given his bats nights at the library and the beach with great success. Read full book review >