Search Results: "Brian Rock"


BOOK REVIEW

DEDUCTIVE DETECTIVE by Brian Rock
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 10, 2013

"A cleverly solved mystery that will get kids using their noggins. (Picture book. 4-8)"
With a combination of clues and logic, the Deductive Detective solves the case of Fox's stolen cake. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WITH ALL MY HEART by Brian Rock
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2012

"Sweet and apt, but slight. For another, more artful ursine exploration of the same question, try Sam McBratney and Anita Jeram's You're All My Favorites (2004). (Picture book. 3-5)"
A day of outdoor fun prompts a big question to Momma Bear from her two young cubs. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

I CAME, I DANCED, I WENT VIRAL
by Jennie K.

BOOK REPORT for Deacon Locke Went to Prom by Brian Katcher

Cover Story: Puttin’ On The Ritz
BFF Charm: Let Me Love You
Swoonworthy Scale: 5
Talky Talk: I Came, I Danced, I Went Viral
Bonus Factors: Kick-Ass Gram, Internet Fame
Relationship Status: Drinking Buddy

Cover Story: Puttin’ On The Ritz

This cover is great: it screams “prom,” but ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

PLAYTIME WITH MCKISSACK
by Julie Danielson

Award-winning author Patricia C. McKissack (born in middle Tennessee, I proudly add) has had a long and distinguished career in the field of children’s literature. Not one to rest on her laurels—I believe she will turn 73 this year—she’s bringing readers this month a superb new book, a volume that I’ve no doubt we’ll judge later as one of the ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

PATRICIA C. MCKISSACK
by Jessie Grearson

Have you ever wondered who wrote “Amazing Grace” or thought about the haunting story behind the hymn “I’ll Fly Away”? Ever skipped rope to “Hot Pepper” or counted “Eenie, Meenie, Miney, Mo”? Then Let’s Clap, Jump, Sing & Shout; Dance, Spin & Turn it Out!: Games, Songs & Stories from an African American Childhood is for you. Award-winning author Patricia ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

KLICKITAT by Peter Rock
YOUNG ADULT
Released: April 12, 2016

"Brooding, evocative, mysterious; a tale for mature readers to dig into—and then discuss. (Fiction. 14-18)"
Vivian, 15, who struggles with anxiety, feels her older sister, Audra, 17, a strong-willed free spirit, pulling away from her; before Audra vanishes, she promises Vivian she'll come back for her. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MY ABANDONMENT by Peter Rock
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: March 12, 2009

"A moving evocation of life on the fringes, sparking many questions about our regulated society."
Does Father know best? His teenage daughter is forced to wonder after they're evicted from their city-park cave in this harrowing fifth novel from Rock (Writing/Reed Coll.; The Bewildered, 2005, etc.). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE UNSETTLING by Peter Rock
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: March 15, 2006

"A solid representation of this writer's mature work, notable for its detached intensity, but his stories' brevity and randomness will leave many dissatisfied."
Curiously dry, unsympathetic short stories by Utah novelist Rock (The Bewildered, 2005, etc.). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MANTIES IN A TWIST by J.A. Rock
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: April 4, 2016

"Kinky, touching, emotional, and sexually intense."
Still mourning the loss of a friend due to an accident during sadomasochistic sex, Kamen moves in with his boyfriend, Ryan, and has to navigate a spectrum of mixed feelings as he and his close-knit set of friends move into their own lives, loves, and levels of kink. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE WHISPERING OF BONES by Judith Rock
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Nov. 5, 2013

"Rock (A Plague of Lies, 2012, etc.) has painstakingly recreated 17th-century Paris, although with a decidedly modern emphasis on guilt as a prime motivator. A strong, sympathetic protagonist, however, atones for both the author's lapses and his own in this latest case file of an aspiring priest."
A former soldier-turned-Jesuit scholar solves a series of mysteries during the reign of Louis XIV. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE RHETORIC OF DEATH by Judith Rock
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Oct. 5, 2010

"Readers will divine the good guys from the bad much faster than the likable and conscientious hero, but Rock's fine eye for historic detail and well-drawn characters will continue to engage readers long after they've put a name to the villain."
Rock offers a debut novel rich with historical detail about everyday life in Paris, especially among the Jesuits, in the year 1686. Read full book review >