Search Results: "Brian Skerry"


BOOK REVIEW

ADVENTURE BENEATH THE SEA by Kenneth Mallory
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 1, 2010

"A rather dry design aside, this book intrigues. (introduction, further reading, glossary, index) (Nonfiction. 9-12)"
Most children know what an astronaut is, but an aquanaut? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

OCEAN COUNTING by Janet Lawler
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 14, 2013

"A great counting and learning combination. (Informational picture book. 3-5)"
Gorgeous photographs and straightforward counting offer preschoolers a few facts about some ocean animals. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: May 3, 1993

"With its pertinent analysis, this could be a contemporary political-science classic."
Skerry (of the UCLA Center for American Politics and Public Policy) doesn't think that Mexican-Americans are ambivalent about being North Americans. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

I CAME, I DANCED, I WENT VIRAL
by Jennie K.

BOOK REPORT for Deacon Locke Went to Prom by Brian Katcher

Cover Story: Puttin’ On The Ritz
BFF Charm: Let Me Love You
Swoonworthy Scale: 5
Talky Talk: I Came, I Danced, I Went Viral
Bonus Factors: Kick-Ass Gram, Internet Fame
Relationship Status: Drinking Buddy

Cover Story: Puttin’ On The Ritz

This cover is great: it screams “prom,” but ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

BATS IN THE BAND by Brian Lies
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 5, 2014

"Again with the bats, evoking another call of 'encore!' (Picture book. 4-8)"
Yet more bats tumble from Lies' belfry, this time to ignite a darkened summer theater with the gift of music. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

EVERYTHING GOES:  ON LAND by Brian Biggs
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2011

"A glory ride for young car, truck, train, bus and trolley devotees. (Informational picture book. 4-6)
"
In a visual feast for fans of wheeled vehicles large and small, Biggs presents a series of high-density street scenes done in an amiably rumpled cartoon style. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BATS AT THE BEACH by Brian Lies
ANIMALS
Released: June 19, 2006

"Perfect for sharing with younglings of the wingless sort, when it's time for them to do the same. (Picture book. 5-7)"
Gathering up "our buckets, trowels, / banjoes, blankets, books, and towels," a family of bats flits out to the beach for a moonlit picnic of "yummy treats"—"Beetles, ants, and milkweed bugs, / crickets, moths, and pickled slugs. / Damselflies, or salted 'skeeters— / no room here for picky eaters!" Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE HOUDINI BOX by Brian Selznick
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 1991

"A historical note is appended. (Fiction/Young Reader. 6-10)"
A fervent admirer of Houdini, ten-year-old Victor tries to emulate his feats, but to no avail: getting out of locked trunks and holding his breath for 5000 seconds are beyond his powers. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

I'M A VETERINARIAN by Brian Biggs
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 6, 2016

"Little ones will enjoy meeting the professionals of Tinyville and seeing familiar faces across the series. (Board book. 2-4)"
A vet gives readers a first-person account of a day at the animal clinic. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

I'M A POLICE OFFICER  by Brian Biggs
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 1, 2017

"A worthy introduction to the concept of police officers. (Board book. 1-3)"
Little readers learn about the police force. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ON THE BALL by Brian Pinkney
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2015

"An inspired, exhilarating portrait of the transforming power of imagination, with special appeal for aspiring soccer stars. (Picture book. 3-5)"
Failing to keep his eye on the soccer ball, a player finds himself on an eventful chase to catch the runaway plaything. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HOORAY FOR HAT! by Brian Won
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 6, 2014

"This lighthearted story revels in the small acts that make life better—cheers all around. (Picture book. 3-7)"
All the animals are grumpy until a surprise brightens their day in this tale about the joy of sharing. Read full book review >