Search Results: "Calvin Alexander Ramsey"


BOOK REVIEW

ANIMALS
Released: Sept. 13, 2011

"An intergenerational story filled with heart and soul. (author's note) (Picture book. 4-7)"
The Civil Rights Movement had many heroes, but none as unusual as Belle. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

RUTH AND THE GREEN BOOK by Calvin Alexander Ramsey
CHILDREN'S
Released: Nov. 1, 2010

"This story touches on a little-known moment in American history with elegance, compassion and humanity. (historical note) (Picture book. 7-12)"
In the early 1950s, newly built interstate highways invited Americans to travel by automobile, but the open road wasn't so open for African-Americans, especially in the South. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Sept. 13, 2011

"More support, if any were needed, that Trillin is a leading humorist, even if some dust clings to a few of the essays and poems."
Some of the best pieces of the esteemed humorist's long career. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

REMEMBERING DENNY by Calvin Trillin
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: April 1, 1993

"Perhaps more appropriate as one of Trillin's shorter New Yorker pieces—but, still, a fine meditation on one life's aborted promise, the crippling burden of anticipated success, and the mysteries of the human heart."
In a memoir on an uncharacteristically somber subject, Trillin (American Stories, 1991, etc.) traces the life of his college friend Roger ``Denny'' Hansen: Phi Beta Kappa, Rhodes Scholar, possessor of charm and good looks to spare—and, at age 55, a suicide victim. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FAMILY MAN by Calvin Trillin
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: June 1, 1998

"He lives up to the book's title."
Trillin (Messages from My Father, 1996; Too Soon to Tell, 1995; etc.), ace reporter and effortless humorist that he is, turns to a decidedly domestic theme, uxorious and lovingly parental, in the latest of his score of entertaining texts. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TOO SOON TO TELL by Calvin Trillin
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: June 1, 1995

"The perfect antidote to the smirky, mean-spirited humor so popular these days. (author tour)"
The prolific New Yorker journalist and gourmand collects the best from the last four years of his syndicated column—a healthy dose of common sense and amiable cynicism. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TEPPER ISN’T GOING OUT by Calvin Trillin
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 15, 2002

"Sweetly silly and very wise. This is what we want to put back in place when the city pulls out of the nightmare."
A fond fable from what one hopes is not a vanished New York. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LITTLE FISH by Ramsey Beyer
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Sept. 3, 2013

"Despite its split personality, her story is easy to relate to and recommended for fans of Raina Telgemeier and Laura Lee Gulledge. (Graphic memoir. 13 & up)"
An autobiographical graphic pastiche recounts the author's experience of leaving her rural hometown and going to art school in a new city. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LOVERS & HATERS by Calvin Slater
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Sept. 1, 2014

"Readers who bring to the novel an understanding of the circumstances impoverished inner-city life can beget will find inspiration in Xavier's story. (Fiction. 14-18)
"
A gritty yet heartwarming debut for teens chronicles the coming-of-age of 16-year-old Xavier Hunter, who navigates new love amid the challenges of drugs, gangs and other woes in inner-city Detroit. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ONCE TWO HEROES by Calvin Baker
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 27, 2003

"A pretty obvious morality tale: well written but nothing new."
Second-novelist Baker (Naming the New World, 1997) tells of two WWII vets, from wildly different backgrounds, whose lives intersect tragically in the postwar Deep South. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DUCHAMP by Calvin Tomkins
Released: Nov. 1, 1996

"Tomkins, determined to make the very best of him, rises to an audacious challenge. (130 illustrations, not seen)"
A spirited, thoroughgoing deconstruction—responsible, if extravagantly partisan—of Marcel Duchamp's bohemian life and bizarre oeuvre, which formalist critics dismiss as monumental hype and postmodernists (``worshippers at the shrine of St. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

JACKSON, 1964 by Calvin Trillin
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: June 28, 2016

"Haunting pieces that show how our window on the past is often a mirror."
A veteran reporter collects some significant pieces about race that originally appeared in the New Yorker, his publishing home since 1963. Read full book review >