Search Results: "Calvin Alexander Ramsey"


BOOK REVIEW

ANIMALS
Released: Sept. 13, 2011

"An intergenerational story filled with heart and soul. (author's note) (Picture book. 4-7)"
The Civil Rights Movement had many heroes, but none as unusual as Belle. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

RUTH AND THE GREEN BOOK by Calvin Alexander Ramsey
CHILDREN'S
Released: Nov. 1, 2010

"This story touches on a little-known moment in American history with elegance, compassion and humanity. (historical note) (Picture book. 7-12)"
In the early 1950s, newly built interstate highways invited Americans to travel by automobile, but the open road wasn't so open for African-Americans, especially in the South. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Sept. 13, 2011

"More support, if any were needed, that Trillin is a leading humorist, even if some dust clings to a few of the essays and poems."
Some of the best pieces of the esteemed humorist's long career. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LITTLE FISH by Ramsey Beyer
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Sept. 3, 2013

"Despite its split personality, her story is easy to relate to and recommended for fans of Raina Telgemeier and Laura Lee Gulledge. (Graphic memoir. 13 & up)"
An autobiographical graphic pastiche recounts the author's experience of leaving her rural hometown and going to art school in a new city. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Jan. 3, 1996

"Rejecting the lost innocent, the victim, the heroic survivor, and other tired archetypes, Ramsey tells her story in her own way, with subtle, shattering power."
A memoir stunning in its unflinching directness and in the precision and deftness of the rememberer's descriptive voice. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Dec. 1, 1992

"His research is impressive. (Photographs—not seen.)"
The Gulf War as Guernica: former US attorney general Clark's profoundly revisionist on-the-ground story of the war and why it occurred. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NAZARETH HILL by Ramsey Campbell
Released: June 11, 1997

"Shocking surprises, alarming horrors, and believable characters—all expertly blended in a fresh, deft shocker."
British horror novelist Campbell (The One Safe Place, 1996, etc.), expert as ever and with a knack for family chitchat amid the ghoulies, returns with the house from hell. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE LAST VOICE THEY HEAR by Ramsey Campbell
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: June 11, 1998

"You bet, though clever Ben isn't as fearsome as the savagely moronic Fancy family of Campbell's 1996 novel, The One Safe Place."
British psychothriller in the vein of Campbell's The Count of Eleven (1992) and Nazareth Hill (1997), with none of his more familiar occult horror and supernatural trimmings. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LOVERS & HATERS by Calvin Slater
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Sept. 1, 2014

"Readers who bring to the novel an understanding of the circumstances impoverished inner-city life can beget will find inspiration in Xavier's story. (Fiction. 14-18)
"
A gritty yet heartwarming debut for teens chronicles the coming-of-age of 16-year-old Xavier Hunter, who navigates new love amid the challenges of drugs, gangs and other woes in inner-city Detroit. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ONCE TWO HEROES by Calvin Baker
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 27, 2003

"A pretty obvious morality tale: well written but nothing new."
Second-novelist Baker (Naming the New World, 1997) tells of two WWII vets, from wildly different backgrounds, whose lives intersect tragically in the postwar Deep South. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

JACKSON, 1964 by Calvin Trillin
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: June 28, 2016

"Haunting pieces that show how our window on the past is often a mirror."
A veteran reporter collects some significant pieces about race that originally appeared in the New Yorker, his publishing home since 1963. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DUCHAMP by Calvin Tomkins
Released: Nov. 1, 1996

"Tomkins, determined to make the very best of him, rises to an audacious challenge. (130 illustrations, not seen)"
A spirited, thoroughgoing deconstruction—responsible, if extravagantly partisan—of Marcel Duchamp's bohemian life and bizarre oeuvre, which formalist critics dismiss as monumental hype and postmodernists (``worshippers at the shrine of St. Read full book review >