Search Results: "Cameron McWhirter"


BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: July 5, 2011

"An unsettling reminder of the cruelty and hatred that can lie beneath the surface of a nation formally committed to equal justice for all, but also a monument to the suffering and perseverance of a people at last determined to demand rights promised but too long denied."
Masterly examination of the widespread outbreak of racially motivated mob violence in the summer of 1919. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SOME GIRLS DO by Teresa McWhirter
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 1, 2004

"Mostly sad stories about club kids, Canadian style. Wasted lives, a waste of time."
Linked sketches skim the surface of a group of twentysomethings down and out in Vancouver. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SKANK by Teresa McWhirter
CLASSICS
Released: Sept. 1, 2011

This stark, convincing portrait of a girl struggling to live in a tough neighborhood should appeal to teens looking for realism. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ROOK by Sharon Cameron
YOUNG ADULT
Released: April 28, 2015

"Full of derring-do and double crosses, this romantic adventure is thoroughly engrossing. (Science fiction. 13-18)"
A clever homage to The Scarlet Pimpernel, set in a post-apocalyptic future Europe. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FICTION
Released: Oct. 9, 2007

"Cameron's power is his ability to distill a particular world and social experience with great specificity while still allowing the reader to access the deep well of our shared humanity. (Fiction. YA)"
Cameron's meticulously voiced novel begins as a comedy of manners, wittily disarticulating a certain class of New Yorker, so it takes the reader awhile to catch onto the fact that it's actually a story about the psychological pain that comes from loneliness and the difficulty in making emotional connections. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

GLORIA'S WAY by Ann Cameron
Released: March 9, 2000

"Great fun, with subtly placed, positive messages that never take center stage. (b&w illustrations) (Fiction. 8-12)"
Fans of Cameron's Huey and Julian stories (More Stories Huey Tells, 1997, etc.) are in for a treat as Gloria, their friend from those tales, gets a book of her own and graciously allows the two brothers to share it . Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

COLIBRÍ by Ann Cameron
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 11, 2003

"Painful, beautiful, and ultimately triumphant. (Fiction. 10-14)"
Twelve-year-old Tzunún barely remembers her life before Uncle, but what she does remember features a loving mother and father. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PROPERTY OF THE STATE by Bill Cameron
YOUNG ADULT
Released: June 7, 2016

"An eminently satisfying series opener for mystery fans who want their downtrodden detectives to be appealing, clever, and unafraid of action. (Mystery. 14-18)"
Foster teen Joey narrates events as he slowly uncovers a convoluted mystery, with a soupçon of romance added for spice. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WASHINGTON AND CAESAR by Christian Cameron
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 6, 2004

"A treat for Revolutionary War buffs, especially those interested in the role of Africans and African-Americans on both sides of that fight."
An epic populated by the likes of George Washington and Alexander Hamilton, various colonial bad and good guys, sympathetic Brits, and an African slave who leads his followers to freedom. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

The Lordlings of Worship and Their Catastrophic Mindrides by Cameron Leigh
Released: Jan. 15, 2013

"A promising, if extraordinarily detailed, novel from a promising new talent."
Leigh's 590-page debut thriller, the first of a planned trilogy, may remind some readers of The Da Vinci Code—except that Dan Brown's book was not nearly so ambitious. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ISLAND OF EXILES by Erica Cameron
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Feb. 14, 2017

"A fresh, original series starter bolstered by a dynamic protagonist and a welcome sense of depth."
Cameron (Assassins: Nemesis, 2017, etc.) tells a YA fantasy tale about a "nyshin"—a warrior, mage, and hunter—on a desert island rife with danger.Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

OUT COMES THE EVIL by Stella Cameron
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Dec. 1, 2015

"Many characters but little character development, and the story luxuriates in gruesome details. Though Cameron (Second to None, 2012, etc.) obviously loves her characters, she assumes the reader's interest rather than earns it."
Two friends try to turn small-town gossip into a reasonable murder investigation when they discover a body and some clues that spur them on. Read full book review >