Search Results: "Cameron Stracher"


BOOK REVIEW

THE LAWS OF RETURN by Cameron Stracher
Released: Oct. 10, 1996

"Lord Buckley monologues. (First printing of 25,000; author tour)"
Seemingly autobiographical debut by Manhattan-based attorney Stracher tells the story of Colin Stone (Hebrew name Chaim, for his late grandfather), raised as a secular Jew by his intellectual parents. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE WATER WARS by Cameron Stracher
ADVENTURE
Released: Jan. 1, 2011

"The high body count may keep bottom feeders engaged. (Science fiction. 11-13)"
An unlikely premise isn't the weakest feature of this illogical, contrived and poorly blocked-out eco-thriller. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: April 9, 2013

"Essential reading for runners both competitive and casual."
A focused survey of three unmatched American long-distance runners. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: Nov. 11, 1998

"A jaundiced but eloquent report on law's current habits."
What do lawyers do all day (and many nights) to earn the big bucks and the ill-favored reputation? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ROOK by Sharon Cameron
YOUNG ADULT
Released: April 28, 2015

"Full of derring-do and double crosses, this romantic adventure is thoroughly engrossing. (Science fiction. 13-18)"
A clever homage to The Scarlet Pimpernel, set in a post-apocalyptic future Europe. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FICTION
Released: Oct. 9, 2007

"Cameron's power is his ability to distill a particular world and social experience with great specificity while still allowing the reader to access the deep well of our shared humanity. (Fiction. YA)"
Cameron's meticulously voiced novel begins as a comedy of manners, wittily disarticulating a certain class of New Yorker, so it takes the reader awhile to catch onto the fact that it's actually a story about the psychological pain that comes from loneliness and the difficulty in making emotional connections. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

GLORIA'S WAY by Ann Cameron
Released: March 9, 2000

"Great fun, with subtly placed, positive messages that never take center stage. (b&w illustrations) (Fiction. 8-12)"
Fans of Cameron's Huey and Julian stories (More Stories Huey Tells, 1997, etc.) are in for a treat as Gloria, their friend from those tales, gets a book of her own and graciously allows the two brothers to share it . Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

COLIBRÍ by Ann Cameron
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 11, 2003

"Painful, beautiful, and ultimately triumphant. (Fiction. 10-14)"
Twelve-year-old Tzunún barely remembers her life before Uncle, but what she does remember features a loving mother and father. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PROPERTY OF THE STATE by Bill Cameron
YOUNG ADULT
Released: June 7, 2016

"An eminently satisfying series opener for mystery fans who want their downtrodden detectives to be appealing, clever, and unafraid of action. (Mystery. 14-18)"
Foster teen Joey narrates events as he slowly uncovers a convoluted mystery, with a soupçon of romance added for spice. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

OUT COMES THE EVIL by Stella Cameron
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Dec. 1, 2015

"Many characters but little character development, and the story luxuriates in gruesome details. Though Cameron (Second to None, 2012, etc.) obviously loves her characters, she assumes the reader's interest rather than earns it."
Two friends try to turn small-town gossip into a reasonable murder investigation when they discover a body and some clues that spur them on. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

The Lordlings of Worship and Their Catastrophic Mindrides by Cameron Leigh
Released: Jan. 15, 2013

"A promising, if extraordinarily detailed, novel from a promising new talent."
Leigh's 590-page debut thriller, the first of a planned trilogy, may remind some readers of The Da Vinci Code—except that Dan Brown's book was not nearly so ambitious. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

JUST A SUMMER FLING  by Cate Cameron
ROMANCE
Released: Aug. 4, 2015

"A bright, warm, intelligent love story from a promising new voice in romance."
Invited to Vermont by a Hollywood acquaintance, movie star Ashley Carlsen meets local handyman Josh Sullivan, who has a reputation as a local player but doesn't seem to want anything to do with her.Read full book review >