Search Results: "Cameron Stracher"


BOOK REVIEW

Released: Nov. 11, 1998

"A jaundiced but eloquent report on law's current habits."
What do lawyers do all day (and many nights) to earn the big bucks and the ill-favored reputation? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE WATER WARS by Cameron Stracher
ADVENTURE
Released: Jan. 1, 2011

"The high body count may keep bottom feeders engaged. (Science fiction. 11-13)"
An unlikely premise isn't the weakest feature of this illogical, contrived and poorly blocked-out eco-thriller. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE LAWS OF RETURN by Cameron Stracher
Released: Oct. 10, 1996

"Lord Buckley monologues. (First printing of 25,000; author tour)"
Seemingly autobiographical debut by Manhattan-based attorney Stracher tells the story of Colin Stone (Hebrew name Chaim, for his late grandfather), raised as a secular Jew by his intellectual parents. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: April 9, 2013

"Essential reading for runners both competitive and casual."
A focused survey of three unmatched American long-distance runners. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ROOK by Sharon Cameron
YOUNG ADULT
Released: April 28, 2015

"Full of derring-do and double crosses, this romantic adventure is thoroughly engrossing. (Science fiction. 13-18)"
A clever homage to The Scarlet Pimpernel, set in a post-apocalyptic future Europe. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FICTION
Released: Oct. 9, 2007

"Cameron's power is his ability to distill a particular world and social experience with great specificity while still allowing the reader to access the deep well of our shared humanity. (Fiction. YA)"
Cameron's meticulously voiced novel begins as a comedy of manners, wittily disarticulating a certain class of New Yorker, so it takes the reader awhile to catch onto the fact that it's actually a story about the psychological pain that comes from loneliness and the difficulty in making emotional connections. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

GLORIA'S WAY by Ann Cameron
Released: March 9, 2000

"Great fun, with subtly placed, positive messages that never take center stage. (b&w illustrations) (Fiction. 8-12)"
Fans of Cameron's Huey and Julian stories (More Stories Huey Tells, 1997, etc.) are in for a treat as Gloria, their friend from those tales, gets a book of her own and graciously allows the two brothers to share it . Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

COLIBRÍ by Ann Cameron
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 11, 2003

"Painful, beautiful, and ultimately triumphant. (Fiction. 10-14)"
Twelve-year-old Tzunún barely remembers her life before Uncle, but what she does remember features a loving mother and father. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PROPERTY OF THE STATE by Bill Cameron
YOUNG ADULT
Released: June 7, 2016

"An eminently satisfying series opener for mystery fans who want their downtrodden detectives to be appealing, clever, and unafraid of action. (Mystery. 14-18)"
Foster teen Joey narrates events as he slowly uncovers a convoluted mystery, with a soupçon of romance added for spice. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

The Lordlings of Worship and Their Catastrophic Mindrides by Cameron Leigh
Released: Jan. 15, 2013

"A promising, if extraordinarily detailed, novel from a promising new talent."
Leigh's 590-page debut thriller, the first of a planned trilogy, may remind some readers of The Da Vinci Code—except that Dan Brown's book was not nearly so ambitious. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FIRST PERSON PLURAL by Cameron West
NON-FICTION
Released: March 3, 1999

"DID skeptics may view this as an ingenious bit of fantasy; for those who found Sybil or The Three Faces of Eve believable and engrossing, this account will be even more so."
A singular first-person account of the much-debated condition now known as dissociative identity disorder (DID)—formerly termed multiple personality disorder—by a man who professes to have 24 separate personalities, or "alters." Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WASHINGTON AND CAESAR by Christian Cameron
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 6, 2004

"A treat for Revolutionary War buffs, especially those interested in the role of Africans and African-Americans on both sides of that fight."
An epic populated by the likes of George Washington and Alexander Hamilton, various colonial bad and good guys, sympathetic Brits, and an African slave who leads his followers to freedom. Read full book review >