Search Results: "Campbell Geeslin"


BOOK REVIEW

Released: Oct. 1, 1999

"With its gestures to other tales and to magic realism, the volume is thoroughly beguiling in both word and image. (Picture book. 3-8)"
In perfect harmony with Geeslin's story Mathers captures the rose, purple, lemon-yellow, and desert-green of Mexico. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ELENA’S SERENADE by Campbell Geeslin
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 2004

"EWSLUGp2003. (Picture book. 7-9)"
Here, Juan surpasses even her magical, atmospheric art for Jonah Winter's Frida (2002). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CLARA AND SEÑOR FROG by Campbell Geeslin
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 24, 2007

"A quietly perceptive celebration of the synergy between observation and imagination necessary for great art. (Picture book. 4-8)"
A little Mexican girl recognizes real magic in the work of a friendly artist. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ON RAM¢N'S FARM by Campbell Geeslin
ANIMALS
Released: Oct. 1, 1998

"Earth-toned folk-art illustrations are friendly and funny, a warm match for Ramón, who turns the routine of everyday tasks into his own personal fiesta. (Picture book. 3- 7)"
Easy-to-read vignettes revisit the style and theme of Rosa's magical encounters with animals in Geeslin's In Rosa's Mexico (1996, not reviewed). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CARTBOY GOES TO CAMP by L.A. Campbell
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 10, 2014

"Fans of the first will probably be disappointed; at best, it's a desperation read-alike for Big Nate or Wimpy Kid. (Graphic/fiction hybrid. 9-12)"
Can Hal survive Camp Jamestown or will he becometh history? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CARTBOY AND THE TIME CAPSULE by L.A. Campbell
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 3, 2013

"A certain series starter (thankfully), given the promise of an interesting summer in the final pages. (Fiction. 8-12)"
Bad enough history class is so boring; now it's keeping Hal from getting his own room. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE BLACK DIAMOND DETECTIVE AGENCY by Eddie Campbell
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: June 1, 2007

"The veteran artist rises to a new challenge."
A visually stunning graphic narrative with all sorts of complicated plot twists. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LESTER'S DREADFUL SWEATERS by K.G. Campbell
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2012

"Children forced to wear horrid clothing made by well-meaning relatives will laugh in sympathy with Lester. If Edward Gorey and Polly Horvath had a literary love child, this would be it. (Picture book. 5-9)"
Cousin Clara, who may or may not be related to the rest of the family, knits horrid sweaters at a breakneck speed. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WATER BABY by Ross Campbell
FRIENDS AND SCHOOL
Released: June 24, 2008

"Trying to be edgy with its no-holds-barred dialogue, this latest offering in the Minx line misses the mark and comes off as crude and at times, offensive. (Graphic novel. YA)"
Writer and artist Campbell introduces Brody, a rude surfer chick with a bad attitude who lives and plays by her own rules. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DYLAN THE VILLAIN by K.G. Campbell
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 23, 2016

"Dylan may have his flaws, but he does his name proud. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Dylan Snivels wants to make a name for himself. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PAPA TEMBO by Eric Campbell
ANIMALS
Released: Sept. 1, 1998

"A long and tumid story, with little to see readers through beyond some lurid writing and, for those with a proclivity for such carnage, the expectation of gory just deserts. (glossary) (Fiction. 11-13)"
A crazed professional poacher and the elephant who smashed his leg 50 years before meet again in this brutal, melodramatic sequel to The Place of Lions (1991). Read full book review >