Search Results: "Carol A. Cole"


BOOK REVIEW

THE PENGUIN LADY by Sherry Rogers
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 10, 2012

"A lightweight, undistinguished addition to the flock of similar penguin profiles. Some newly fledged readers may waddle its way. (Informational picture book. 6-8)"
A parade of penguin species, overlaid by a veneer-thin storyline. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

BEST BOOKS OF 2016: TEJU COLE
by Michael Valinsky

Most readers know Teju Cole as the photography critic for the New York Times. Others know him as the novelist who explores, through his narrative gestures, the various ways in which one comes to build an identity in an environment that makes prejudice and binaries rules of thumb. But to assign Cole a trade would be undermining his entire practice ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Oct. 7, 2003

"Despite the impressive containment work of health professionals, an unsettling story of all-too-accessible weapons."
Carefully drawn chronology of the anthrax episodes of September and October 2001. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

#LOVINGDAY & #PRIDEMONTH
by Bobbi Dumas

Since this week encompasses #PrideMonth, #LovingDay, and #RememberOrlando, I wanted to share some great M/M romances and inter-racial romance titles I really enjoyed.

I recently mentioned Santino Hassell & Megan Erickson’s RITA nominated Fast Connection (Cyberlove series), and I’ve requested a stand-alone title from Hassell’s Interborough series in audio. In all the years I’ve written about romance, I’ve rarely ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

MOTORCYCLE MUSINGS
by Bobbi Dumas

Two fave authors have books coming out early next month, and I thought I’d make sure these titles are on your radar screen.

Laura Kaye and Julie Ann Walker always promise heart-stopping action and breathtaking romance, and if you haven’t read these two yet, then I recommend you get on that right away!

They’re both romance bestsellers, so I expect ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

SOME KIND OF WONDERFUL
by Mandy Wan

BOOK REPORT for Wonderful Feels Like This by Sara Lövestam, translated by Laura A. Wideburg

Cover Story: Underbar
BFF Charm: Let Me Love You
Swoonworthy Scale:
 7
Talky Talk: Straight Up, Swedish Style
Bonus Factors:
 Jazz, Kickass Jazz Mentor
Ambivalence Factor: Bullying
Relationship Status: 'S Wonderful

Cover Story: Underbar

The brightness! The colors! The '80s Boy George hat ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

Chiseling Memories, Chasing Sleep by Carol A. Elliott
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: March 31, 2015

"A bawdy, entertaining chronicle with a likably abrasive heroine.
"
An invincible woman recalls outrageous misadventures of everyday life in this raucous debut comic novel. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

A ROMANTIC NOD TO WOMEN’S HISTORY MONTH
by Bobbi Dumas

As we close out March, I thought it would be a nice salute to women’s history month to focus on some great historical romance and some truly terrific romance heroines!

First off, I wanted to give a major shout-out to a debut novel that was released this week, Lisa Berne’s You May Kiss the Bride (which earned a starred review ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: May 1, 2001

"Like all good history, this thoroughly researched and documented account offers lessons for today. (Ten line drawings and ten halftones)"
A critical look at the origins of criminal identification and the impact of changing technologies on the field. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PANTHER IN THE HIVE by Olivia A Cole
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: March 31, 2014

"Solid character development strengthens a familiar plot."
In a future Chicago, when bionic chips have turned some humans into zombielike creatures, a young woman fights her way to possible sanctuary. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WE BECAME LIKE A HAND by Carol A. Ortlip
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: April 1, 2001

"While Ortlip's love for her sisters is intensely moving and well-depicted, the story of their sisterly bonds is almost completely eclipsed by the disturbing revelations about her parents and the bleakness of her life."
A memoir of the bonds of sisterhood, as recalled by the eldest of five sisters. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WHEN I GROW UP, I WANT TO BE MYSELF by A. Cole
Released: Jan. 27, 2017

"A book that will be a hit with young readers, especially in schools with ethnically diverse student bodies."
Debut author Cole and illustrator Embeli, in this energetic children's book, question the importance of kids' selecting future careers. Read full book review >