Search Results: "Carol-Lynn Waugh"


BOOK REVIEW

HOLMES FOR THE HOLIDAYS by Martin H. Greenberg
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Nov. 1, 1996

"But readers who find Holmes here repeatedly more impressive at tossing off casual inferences than at solving cases should consult Conan Doyle, in whose hands he often behaves much the same."
If the prospect of 14 pastiches all featuring Christmas and Sherlock Holmes makes you queasy, take heart: Everyone involved produces professional, if not exactly inspired, work. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: Nov. 11, 1998

"But, after all, Christmas is His birthday."
A Christmas "fable" by the author of A Stranger for Christmas (not reviewed) and Morning Glory Mother (1997). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: April 1, 1994

"A terrifying story, brilliantly told, as well as a commentary on American culture during the 1970's."
How psychotherapy led to control and ultimate disaster in a West Coast community, narrated by journalist Mithers (author of the much ballyhooed 1982 Village Voice article ``My Life as a Man''). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE CHRISTMAS THINGAMAJIG by Lynn Manuel
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2002

"The spreads that include both timeframes connect gracefully through various shared connecting devices: open doors, an old tree with spreading branches, or an open window, linking the past to the present. (Picture book. 5-10)"
A young girl named Chloe is reluctant to enjoy Christmas because of her beloved grandmother's recent death in this bittersweet, well-told story. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MATT'S GIFT by Carol Lynn Thomas
Released: May 15, 2012

"A sports-themed popcorn novel."
Matt Collier travels back in time to witness a legendary baseball game in Thomas' young adult, sci-fi mystery. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FATHERS AND SONS by Alexander Waugh
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 29, 2007

"A candid, intimate and touching portrait of the author's masculine forebears, composed in nimble prose."
A sprightly memoir about the succession of cranky, writerly Waugh men, concluding with the author (born 1963). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE LOVED ONE by Evelyn Waugh
Released: June 23, 1948

"Certainly not a even for Waugh addicts."
Entertaining as Evelyn Waugh's practiced wit may be, the mockery here seems a little macabre for all tastes. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SWORD OF HONOUR by Evelyn Waugh
Released: Nov. 2, 1966

"Some critics, Malcolm Muggeridge for instance, considered this ironic, absurd, affecting (and autobiographical) portrait of a middle aged man at war his finest achievement."
Both a "recension" (Waugh before his death excised some of the original material) as well as a one-volume publication of the World War II trilogy— Men at Arms (1952) Officers and Gentleman (1955) and Unconditional Surrender (1961) which Waugh thought of as "obituary of the Roman Catholic Church in England." Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE DIARIES OF EVELYN WAUGH by Evelyn Waugh
Released: Oct. 25, 1977

All different kinds of people are going to be disappointed by these heavily heralded diaries—kept by England's most acerbic schoolboy, playboy, traveler, soldier, and novelist. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HELENA by Evelyn Waugh
Released: Oct. 16, 1950

"An intellectual invention which is not without its spiritual significance, this still does not subdue the occasional bright badinage, the wit which is a worldly one, although it will be the name that will carry this to its audience."
A retelling of the story of St. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE MENNYMS by Sylvia Waugh
FAMILY AND GROWING UP
Released: April 1, 1994

"There's plenty of material here for a sequel, a hope readers will surely embrace. (Fiction. 10+)"
Fans of The Borrowers or Sylvia Cassedy's Behind the Attic Wall have cause to celebrate this first novel about a family of lifesize rag dolls who reside modestly in an English neighborhood. Read full book review >