Search Results: "Caroline Leavitt"


BOOK REVIEW

CAROLINE by Sarah Miller
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 15, 2017

"Beguiling, pulse-pounding historical fiction."
The Ingalls family loads everything they own onto a wagon and heads west from Wisconsin to the unsettled Kansas Territory, but this time, the tale is told from Caroline's perspective. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

IS THIS TOMORROW by Caroline Leavitt
Released: May 7, 2013

"A moderately interesting story told in extremely broad strokes."
Two troubled families—are there any other kind in Leavitt's novels (Pictures of You, 2011, etc.)?—grapple to cope with a 12-year-old boy's disappearance. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

GIRLS IN TROUBLE by Caroline Leavitt
Released: Jan. 1, 2004

"A sadly familiar tale by Leavitt (Coming Back to Me, 2001, etc.), though ably written in a straightforward style: likely to appeal to teenagers and their parents as well."
An open adoption goes awry, in an eighth outing by the Boston Globe columnist. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CRUEL BEAUTIFUL WORLD by Caroline Leavitt
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 4, 2016

"A capable, readable, empathetic novel, yet its impact is minimal."
The new novel from an established chronicler of family crises explores secrets and bonds connecting two orphaned sisters and the "very distantly related" woman who raised them. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PICTURES OF YOU by Caroline Leavitt
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 25, 2011

"Heartfelt (everyone cries), deft and highly readable fiction."
Tragedy leads to complicated love as a widower and the woman who accidentally killed his wife are united by a grieving child looking for an angel. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

COMING BACK TO ME by Caroline Leavitt
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: April 1, 2001

"Realistic, well-plotted, eminently readable portrait of a family in crisis—and an improvement on Leavitt's usual formula."
Lively melodrama from the author of six family-centric novels (Into Thin Air, 1993, etc.) in the vein of Jacquelyn Mitchard or Jane Hamilton. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

INTO THIN AIR by Caroline Leavitt
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Feb. 16, 1993

"Some attractive prose, then, but beyond that the effect is anesthetizing."
More psychopathology as fiction by the author of Family (1987), Jealousies (1983), etc., this time about a troubled teen named Lee and the people she damages. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

AFTER CAROLINE by Kay Hooper
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Dec. 1, 1996

"Nothing groundbreaking here, but Joanna is a likably quirky heroine, and the suspense is sustained admirably right up to the very end."
Paperback veteran Hooper comes through with thrills, chills, and plenty of romance in her second hardcover (after Amanda, 1995), this time with an energetic—if formulaic—murder mystery with a clever twist. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A CHRISTMAS CAROLINE by Kyle Smith
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Nov. 7, 2006

"The Scrooge is the same, but the message is muffled."
A chick-lit tweak of the Dickens classic. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WHAT CAROLINE KNEW by Caryn James
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: March 7, 2006

"As this story's heroine evolves from being merely boring to fundamentally loathsome, so too does her tale."
In her second novel (Glorie, 1998), a New York Times culture critic travels back to the 1920s to tell a story of uptown society and the downtown art scene. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Aug. 7, 2006

"A lucid account of one of the messiest, sleaziest and most dangerous times in British history."
An examination of the 1820 prosecution of unpopular George IV's popular queen, arguing that it instigated and/or solidified a variety of cultural changes in England and perhaps prevented a civil war. Read full book review >