Search Results: "Caroline Leavitt"


BOOK REVIEW

IS THIS TOMORROW by Caroline Leavitt
Released: May 7, 2013

"A moderately interesting story told in extremely broad strokes."
Two troubled families—are there any other kind in Leavitt's novels (Pictures of You, 2011, etc.)?—grapple to cope with a 12-year-old boy's disappearance. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PICTURES OF YOU by Caroline Leavitt
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 25, 2011

"Heartfelt (everyone cries), deft and highly readable fiction."
Tragedy leads to complicated love as a widower and the woman who accidentally killed his wife are united by a grieving child looking for an angel. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CRUEL BEAUTIFUL WORLD by Caroline Leavitt
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 4, 2016

"A capable, readable, empathetic novel, yet its impact is minimal."
The new novel from an established chronicler of family crises explores secrets and bonds connecting two orphaned sisters and the "very distantly related" woman who raised them. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

GIRLS IN TROUBLE by Caroline Leavitt
Released: Jan. 1, 2004

"A sadly familiar tale by Leavitt (Coming Back to Me, 2001, etc.), though ably written in a straightforward style: likely to appeal to teenagers and their parents as well."
An open adoption goes awry, in an eighth outing by the Boston Globe columnist. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

INTO THIN AIR by Caroline Leavitt
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Feb. 16, 1993

"Some attractive prose, then, but beyond that the effect is anesthetizing."
More psychopathology as fiction by the author of Family (1987), Jealousies (1983), etc., this time about a troubled teen named Lee and the people she damages. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

COMING BACK TO ME by Caroline Leavitt
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: April 1, 2001

"Realistic, well-plotted, eminently readable portrait of a family in crisis—and an improvement on Leavitt's usual formula."
Lively melodrama from the author of six family-centric novels (Into Thin Air, 1993, etc.) in the vein of Jacquelyn Mitchard or Jane Hamilton. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TANGLES by Sarah Leavitt
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 1, 2012

"Not simply the story of a disease, but of the flawed, complex, intelligent people whose lives it transformed."
The power of this graphic memoir is not that its story about a family dealing with Alzheimer's is so extraordinary, but that it has become so ordinary. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

KETURAH AND LORD DEATH by Martine Leavitt
FAMILY AND GROWING UP
Released: Nov. 1, 2006

"Keturah's quest is lovely if (given its folktale style) not so original, but her unexpected solution to the puzzle leads to a thought-provoking and unabashedly sentimental conclusion. (Fantasy. 12-15)"
This lyrical tale adds surprises to the search for true love. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HECK SUPERHERO by Martine Leavitt
FAMILY AND GROWING UP
Released: Sept. 15, 2004

"The lightness of her language yet carries a moving story of a spunky kid who learns he has to live in the real world. (Fiction. 12-14)"
This splendid comedy-drama about a 13-year-old boy who finds himself on the streets when his incapable mother abandons reality, will appeal to both reluctant and serious readers. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE INDIAN CLERK by David Leavitt
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 14, 2007

"Not a perfect novel, but easily Leavitt's (The Man Who Knew Too Much: Alan Turing and The Invention of The Computer, 2006, etc.) best—and a heartening indication that this uneven writer has reached a new level of artistic maturity."
The certainty attributed to mathematics is richly contrasted to the uncertainty of human relationships in Leavitt's unusual and absorbing eighth novel. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ARKANSAS by David Leavitt
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: April 3, 1997

"Sad tales of anomie and of confused, contradictory quests for love. (Author tour)"
Grim, disturbing explorations of the way in which lust and loneliness can destroy the possibility of love, by the author of two story collections (including A Place I've Never Been, 1990) and three novels (While England Sleeps, 1993, etc.). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BLUE MOUNTAIN by Martine Leavitt
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 28, 2014

"A timeless yet fresh story that beautifully connects readers to the natural world. (Fantasy. 8-14)"
A middle-grade story rich in natural setting and life lessons. Read full book review >