Search Results: "Carolyn Brown"


BOOK REVIEW

TALK COWBOY TO ME  by Carolyn Brown
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Feb. 7, 2017

"A sweet story about building family out of what life hands you."
This eighth book in Brown's Spikes and Spurs series is The Brady Bunch meets Reba with a little spice thrown in for good measure. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: March 21, 2007

"A long-winded, year-by-year chronicle of 20 years in modern dance."
A diary of the author's two decades with Merce Cunningham's company. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE BLUE-RIBBON JALAPEÑO SOCIETY JUBILEE by Carolyn Brown
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: March 1, 2013

"A high-spirited, romantic page turner."
Ruthless gossip, philandering husbands, flawless makeup, hunky bartenders and true friendship bring Cadillac, Texas, into vivid focus. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

LOVE IS IN THE AIR - #RITAGH
by Bobbi Dumas

It’s an exciting week in the romance world! On Tuesday, RWA announced the finalists in the RITA and Golden Heart contests. (You can find the full list here.)

For those of you who may not know, the Golden Heart is Romance Writers of America’s contest for unpublished authors.

Some of my favorite authors and friends of Read-A-Romance made the RITA ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

MY CHILDREN'S BOOK GHOST FILE
by Julie Danielson

Over at NPR last week, I heard a pop culture critic talk (here) about what he calls his Ghost File, or the books, television shows, and movies he didn’t review during the year. “[I]t's the great frustration,” he said, “that every year I'm haunted by all the terrific things I haven't talked about … ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

IN FULL FLIGHT WITH GREG PIZZOLI
by Julie Danielson

The start of a new year is always exciting for readers. We envision brand-spankin’-new books from our favorite authors and new artwork from illustrators whose work we love to see. Look past our shoulders and you’ll see crossed fingers that our favorite writers and artists have something in store for us.

Most surprising of all is when we get ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

THE TWELVE DAYS OF CHRISTMAS DOGS by Carolyn Conahan
ANIMALS
Released: Sept. 1, 2005

"The new words to the old song provide a catchy alternative for musically inclined dog lovers, and there's a marmalade cat on every page to keep the cat lovers happy as well. (Picture book. 3-7)"
Conahan reworks the well-known words to the traditional Christmas carol to feature a canine crowd, beginning with "a pug puppy under the tree." Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

REDOUTÉ by Carolyn Croll
BEDTIME BOOK
Released: March 19, 1996

"Very pretty. (bibliography) (Picture book/biography. 5+)"
RedoutÇ's name is known through the popularity of his rose and lily paintings, but few people know anything about the man who was court-appointed painter to both Marie Antoinette and Empress Josephine, and who said to Napoleon, ``Painting flowers may be something small, but it is what I do best, because it is what I love most.'' RedoutÇ's simple botanical drawings of single flowers were quite revolutionary in the late 18th- and early 19th-centuries when the fashion was for glamorous portraits and mythological scenes. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

VICTORIA REBELS by Carolyn Meyer
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Jan. 1, 2013

"The author does not enhance or alter the history; she simply and convincingly translates it into a lively narrative. (Historical fiction. 12 & up)"
This absorbing, fictionalized first-person account of Queen Victoria's early life reveals the hardships she endured as a child and young woman. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE WHITE ZONE by Carolyn Marsden
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 1, 2012

"A decently executed exploration of the American presence in Iraq and the tensions between Shiites and Sunnis. (author's notes, glossary) (Fiction. 9-13)"
Young Iraqi cousins face their religious differences in war-torn Baghdad. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ALWAYS A WITCH by Carolyn MacCullough
FANTASY
Released: Aug. 1, 2011

"Readers unfamiliar with the first book should check it out before they tackle this one; that background under their belt, this proves to be an enjoyable magical adventure. (Urban fantasy. 12 & up)"
How does one go about saving one's family from history? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE TRUE ADVENTURES OF CHARLEY DARWIN by Carolyn Meyer
ADVENTURE
Released: Jan. 1, 2009

"Lacking scientific details which could interest budding naturalists, character development as spice for those interested in Darwin's romances or scientific epiphanies for young historians, Charley's 'memoir' will please few. (Historical fiction. 11-13)"
Fictionalized autobiography must walk a narrow line between truth and story. Read full book review >