Search Results: "Carron Brown"


BOOK REVIEW

SECRETS OF THE APPLE TREE by Carron Brown
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 2014

"Very young book lovers might be intrigued by the peekaboo game but will be better served by a more accurate representation of the natural world. (Picture book. 4-7)"
Secret life under, in and around an apple tree can be revealed when light shines through the pages of this interactive, flawed book. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SECRETS OF WINTER by Carron Brown
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2015

"A one-trick pony unlikely to tempt readers into a second ride. (Informational novelty picture book. 6-8)"
Holding alternate pages up to a light reveals animals hiding, sleeping, or foraging through a winter night. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

AT THE GARAGE by Carron Brown
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2017

"May inspire a few test drives but lacking in horsepower next to Leo Timmers' Gus's Garage (2017) or even Gail Gibbons' staid Tranportation (2017). (Informational novelty. 6-8)"
Over the course of a day, a parade of vehicles from a motorcycle to a fire truck check in to a garage for servicing, mechanical repairs, a paint job, or a wash. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WONDERS OF THE USA by Carron Brown
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 2017

"Anemic selections of basic facts paired to a visual trick that is only fitfully exploited with imagination. (Informational novelty. 7-9)"
A "whistle-stop" tour of natural, historical, and cultural marvels, from Denali to the Everglades, the Golden Gate Bridge to Mardi Gras. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

LOVE IS IN THE AIR - #RITAGH
by Bobbi Dumas

It’s an exciting week in the romance world! On Tuesday, RWA announced the finalists in the RITA and Golden Heart contests. (You can find the full list here.)

For those of you who may not know, the Golden Heart is Romance Writers of America’s contest for unpublished authors.

Some of my favorite authors and friends of Read-A-Romance made the RITA ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

MY CHILDREN'S BOOK GHOST FILE
by Julie Danielson

Over at NPR last week, I heard a pop culture critic talk (here) about what he calls his Ghost File, or the books, television shows, and movies he didn’t review during the year. “[I]t's the great frustration,” he said, “that every year I'm haunted by all the terrific things I haven't talked about … ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

IN FULL FLIGHT WITH GREG PIZZOLI
by Julie Danielson

The start of a new year is always exciting for readers. We envision brand-spankin’-new books from our favorite authors and new artwork from illustrators whose work we love to see. Look past our shoulders and you’ll see crossed fingers that our favorite writers and artists have something in store for us.

Most surprising of all is when we get ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

THE PHANTOM BULLY by Jeffrey Brown
CHILDREN'S
Released: July 28, 2015

"Everybody's middle school years should be as ultimately satisfying as Roan's, whether they are Jedis-in-training or not. (Graphic fantasy. 8-12)"
Perhaps playing off the principle that a great ending will mitigate almost anything, this story has at least a dozen endings, and all of them are pretty spectacular. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DROWNED CITY by Don Brown
GRAPHIC NOVELS & COMIC BOOKS
Released: Aug. 4, 2015

"An excellent chronicle of the tragedy for a broad audience; children, teens, and adults will all be moved. (source notes, bibliography) (Graphic nonfiction. 12 & up)"
Following the stellar The Great American Dust Bowl (2013), Brown tells the story of Hurricane Katrina and its impact on New Orleans, beginning with "a swirl of unremarkable wind" in "early August, 2005" and ending with the observation that "By 2012, only 80 percent of New Orleans's residents had returned."Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

AARON AND ALEXANDER by Don Brown
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 13, 2015

"Handsome, well-executed history for a young audience. (Informational picture book. 6-10)"
The peculiar enmity between founding fathers Aaron Burr and Alexander Hamilton culminated in an infamous duel. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

EDDIE AND DOG by Alison Brown
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 1, 2014

"A sweet choice for dog lovers, active children or anyone searching for a friend. (Picture book. 4-8)"
This effervescent boy-and-dog tale is worth making some room on the shelf. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MONKEY'S FRIENDS by Ruth Brown
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 2012

"Though pretty and engaging, a miss. (Picture book. 3-6)"
Playful Monkey takes readers on a guessing game through a world of disparate animals. Read full book review >