Search Results: "Cassandra Rose Clarke"


BOOK REVIEW

Released: Oct. 2, 2012

"A ripsnorting series opener; may the sequels arrive soon. (Fantasy. 13 & up)"
A kick-ass pirate heroine gets into and out of (mostly into) trouble in this invigorating fantasy. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE PIRATE'S WISH by Cassandra Rose Clarke
YOUNG ADULT
Released: June 4, 2013

"Thrilling action combines with surprising character revelations in this satisfying sequel. (Fantasy. 13 & up)"
Swashbuckling, brash pirate Ananna fights her growing attraction to Naji, the Jadorr'a assassin once sent to kill her, while trying to break the impossible curse binding them together (The Assassin's Curse, 2012). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

OUR LADY OF THE ICE by Cassandra Rose Clarke
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 27, 2015

"An ambitious novel set in a richly imagined world but impeded by its glacial pace."
A sci-fi mystery involving robots and revolutionaries. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE MAD SCIENTIST'S DAUGHTER by Cassandra Rose Clarke
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Nov. 8, 2016

"An ambitious tale that doesn't quite deliver."
A reissue of Clarke's (Our Lady of the Ice, 2015, etc.) 2013 novel about the relationship between a roboticist's daughter and the android she's known since childhood. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

M.J. ROSE - LA MAGIE ET L’AMOUR
by Bobbi Dumas

If you’ve followed my writing/reviews/blog for any length of time, there are a few things you may have picked up about me and my preferred reading.

I love Paris. I love books set during WWI, WWII, and the interwar years. I love stories with a magical element. And I certainly like an interesting twist.

So it should come ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

LITTLE GIRL LOST (AND FOUND)
by Jennie K.

BOOK REPORT for The Lost and the Found by Cat Clarke

Cover Story: Ripped and Torn
BFF Charm: Big Sister
Swoonworthy Scale: 1
Talky Talk: The Long and the Short
Bonus Factor: Girl on the Milk Carton
Relationship Status: Group Therapy

Cover Story: Ripped and Torn

This is an interesting cover, and fairly effective—two ripped photos juxtaposing the main character’s ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

CLAIR-DE-LUNE by Cassandra Golds
ANIMALS
Released: Feb. 14, 2006

"Twaddle—and sloppy twaddle at that. (Fiction. 9-12)"
Goopily sentimental, drearily didactic, with not a single emotion un-telegraphed or story trope un-pilfered, this forced effort will appeal to only the most unsophisticated romantic. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE DRAGON OF HANDALE by Cassandra Clark
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: March 17, 2015

"A dramatic mystery lavishly studded with period details: Clark's best to date."
Sister Hildegard has a momentous decision to make as soon as she solves some murders. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

QUEEN OF BROKEN HEARTS by Cassandra King
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: March 6, 2007

"A provocative treatise on the blessings and curses of marriage and middle age."
Alabama divorce coach tends to her flock. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CITY OF HEAVENLY FIRE by Cassandra Clare
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: May 27, 2014

"Bloated. (Fantasy. 13 & up)"
The myriad magical, societal and romantic story threads of two series and nine books conclude without living up to the series' purple promise. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SHADOWHUNTERS AND DOWNWORLDERS by Cassandra Clare
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Jan. 29, 2013

"Self-serving, but enjoyable for committed fans. (Nonfiction 15-18)"
A selection of essays about the Mortal Instruments series edited by the series' author offers a couple of gems and a lot that's not. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CLOCKWORK PRINCE by Cassandra Clare
FANTASY
Released: Dec. 6, 2011

"A purple page turner. (Fantasy. 13-16)"
This sequel to Clockwork Angel (2010) pits gorgeous, attractively broken teens against a menacing evil. Read full book review >