Search Results: "Cath Crowley"


BOOK REVIEW

GRAFFITI MOON by Cath Crowley
Released: Feb. 14, 2012

"There's splashes of color, but teens will find their interest washes out rapidly. (Fiction. 13 & up)"
Alternating narrators and snatches of poetry tell the tale of love among graffiti artists. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A LITTLE WANTING SONG by Cath Crowley
FICTION
Released: June 8, 2010

"Told in two distinct voices and replete with vivid images of ghosts, music and nature, this heartfelt, reflective novel is a natural read-alike to Jandy Nelson's The Sky Is Everywhere (2010). (Fiction. 13 & up)"
Rose is a restless, passionate science student who longs to flee the Australian bush. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WORDS IN DEEP BLUE by Cath Crowley
YOUNG ADULT
Released: June 6, 2017

"This love story is an ode to words and life. (Fiction. 14-18)"
Rachel's best friend is the love of her life in this Australian import. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CRYING OUT LOUD by Cath Staincliffe
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: March 1, 2012

"Emotionally gritty, though it's hard to admire Sal's taste in men or her pedestrian investigative methods (Missing, 2007, etc.)."
How can you solve a murder if the baby needs changing? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

OFFICER PANDA by Ashley Crowley
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 27, 2015

"Officer Panda's investigation is not a great introduction to the justice system, but for readers with the right sense of humor, it has plenty of other delights. (fun facts about fingerprints) (Picture book. 4-8)"
The title character's metafictive investigation threatens to get under the skin of justice-minded readers. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DEAD TO ME by Cath Staincliffe
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Jan. 14, 2014

"Staincliffe (Crying Out Loud, 2011, etc.) devotes nearly as much attention to her three leads' struggles with their personal lives as she does to the procedural itself. Sympathetic though they are, one keeps wanting them to stop agonizing and just get on with the case."
Two female detectives form an uneasy partnership in the grim back streets of Manchester. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

STARFISH by James Crowley
ADVENTURE
Released: Nov. 9, 2010

Lionel, a Blackfeet boy orphaned at three, has grown up with his older sister Beatrice at Chalk Bluff boarding school in the early 1900s. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: July 8, 2008

"A masterly narrative that captures the religious fervor, brutality and mayhem of this intensive contest for the 'center of the world.'"
Exciting re-creation of the epic mid-16th-century struggle between the encroaching Ottoman Empire and the beleaguered Christian Europeans. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE STOLEN ONE by Suzanne Crowley
FICTION
Released: June 1, 2009

"As they revel in Kat's clear-as-a-bell, first-person observations of Tudor England's dangerous liaisons and fairy-tale gowns, teens will also relate to a girl who struggles not only to find her place but to know her heart. (epilogue, family tree, author's note) (Historical fiction. 14 & up)"
Mystery and magic surround Katherine "Kat" Bab, a spirited 16-year-old with wild red hair her omen-wary adoptive mother Grace calls "wolf bait." Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: June 1, 1998

"Crowley might have helped us navigate our prejudices but, alas, is more apologist than guide. (Author tour)"
A hagiographic account of the last years of Richard M. Nixon. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LOVE AND SLEEP by John Crowley
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Aug. 15, 1994

"Disappointing."
Crowley (Aegypt, 1987, etc.) struggles to recapture the smooth blending of straight narrative and speculative hermeticism that gave his best work, Little, Big (1981), the startling quality of metaphysical realism. Read full book review >