Search Results: "Catherine Greenman"


BOOK REVIEW

HOOKED by Catherine Greenman
FICTION
Released: Aug. 9, 2011

"What keeps this strong debut on course is its accumulation of myriad, closely observed details, the building blocks of fiction that delineate character and bring an imagined world, narrow or not, to life. (Fiction. 14 & up)"
Thea Galehouse, adrift and under-motivated, is a junior at Manhattan's Stuyvesant High School when she meets senior Will Weston and makes him the center of her world. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WHAT HE’S POISED TO DO by Ben Greenman
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: June 1, 2010

"An uneven collection, unlikely to create a new audience for Greenman."
More stories from the New Yorker editor and indie-lit notable. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE SLIPPAGE by Ben Greenman
Released: April 23, 2013

"A perfectly decent read, but it probably won't keep you up at night flipping pages."
Greenman's book examines the marriage and relationship of two imperfect, ordinary people. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DIG IF YOU WILL THE PICTURE by Ben Greenman
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: April 11, 2017

"Likely not the definitive book on Prince, but certainly one that merits attention by fans and students of pop culture alike."
A satisfying portrait, warts included, of the Purple One, one-time heir to the thrones of James Brown and Jimi Hendrix alike. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CELEBRITY CHEKHOV by Ben Greenman
Released: Oct. 1, 2010

"A derivative, exploitative literary stunt."
The stories of Anton Chekhov are hijacked by American celebrities in New Yorker editor Greenman's latest (What He's Poised to Do, 2010, etc.). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

EMOTIONAL RESCUE by Ben Greenman
ESSAYS & ANTHOLOGIES
Released: Aug. 1, 2016

"The collection's promising evocation of 'communication and disconnection' leads to more repetition than illumination."
A collection of interconnected personal essays on the way musical favorites connect and disconnect us. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

I AM BRIAN WILSON by Brian Wilson
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Oct. 11, 2016

"As a study in creativity, superb, though as memoir, partial and a touch reluctant. Whatever the case, essential for any Beach Boys fan."
Everyone's favorite musical mad scientist reveals a troubled yet hopeful life. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: June 18, 2013

"Fanatics and newcomers to the music will both find plenty of revelation here."
A thoughtful, incisive analysis of hip-hop—and pop music in general—from one of its foremost contemporary architects. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SUPERWORSE by Ben Greenman
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 1, 2004

"Something extraordinary."
A "remix" of some previously published stories and funny bits that amuses, and amuses some more. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BROTHAS BE, YO LIKE GEORGE, AIN'T THAT FUNKIN' KINDA HARD ON YOU? by George Clinton
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Oct. 21, 2014

"Though sometimes too slow and a touch, well, normal, Clinton's memoir proves a treat for the many who love his work."
Uncle Jam's funkadactic crusade continues in a book that, though less rollicking than a fan might expect, still kicks it. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

CATHERINE LACEY
by Vincent Scarpa

Ask Catherine Lacey for the origin story of her new novel, The Answers, and she won’t hesitate to give you the short answer: back pain. More specifically, an inexplicable and persistent back pain that greeted her in the midst of an emotionally turbulent period in her life marked by loss, upheaval, and complication; a time which occasioned, for Lacey, a ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

CATHERINE BURNS
by Megan Labrise

To make it to the oratorical Valhalla that is The Moth Mainstage, you’ve got to have bravery, vulnerability, and a hell of a story to tell. You absolutely cannot have that story printed on sheets of paper.

“People wanted us to do a book for a long time...but I was a little bit reluctant because it’s The Moth—our storytellers ...


Read the full post >