Search Results: "Cecilia Giumento"


BOOK REVIEW

PRINCESS NINA by Michel Rodrique
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 18, 2013

"Middle schoolers saddled with mean girls of their own will glory in this one's comeuppance. It wouldn't be such a bad thing to have personal fairies to help with homework, either. (Graphic fantasy. 8-10)"
Trapped in a textbook, Nina, a purple-haired Everygirl, and her turquoise-tressed fairy friend, Sibyl, take an impromptu tour through history. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE WORLD FROM UP HERE by Cecilia Galante
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 28, 2016

"Galante's penned a poignant tale of self-discovery. (Fiction. 10-14)"
Sixth-grader Wren is besieged with worry. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PLUMBERSUTRA by Cecilia Kochanowski
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: April 25, 2006

"Enjoyable, and harmlessly superficial."
A string of snarky observations on such suburban conundrums as first-time home buying, commuting, buying an SUV, roof-remodeling and, of course, plumbers. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PARISIAN PROMISES by Cecilia Velástegui
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: March 18, 2014

"An elusive tale of love, sex and mind games."
In Velástegui's (Trace of Bliss, 2011, etc.) novel, an American girl studying abroad in 1970s Paris finds herself risking her safety as well as her heart. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE PATRON SAINT OF BUTTERFLIES by Cecilia Galante
ANIMALS
Released: May 1, 2008

"Readers will be amazed by Agnes and Honey's strength to enter a brave new world of Big Macs and automatic doors—and independence and unconditional love. (Fiction. 12-16)"
Agnes fasts and self-mutilates to emulate the martyrs depicted in her copy of The Saints' Way, while orphaned Honey would rather contemplate the beauty of butterflies than the religious rhetoric they have been forced to follow from their oppressive leader, Emmanuel. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SEXCRIME by Cecilia Tan
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: May 31, 2000

"Gardner Dozois, etc.) of minimal interest."
More erotic fiction edited by Tan (Black Feathers, 1998, etc.), this comprising 12 tales, 1993-2000, half of which have been published before in other collections; the book itself first appeared in Canada in January. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TARNISHED BEAUTY by Cecilia Samartin
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: March 18, 2008

"Soulful and unsentimental."
Three parallel love stories and a pilgrimage inform Samartin's second novel (Broken Paradise, 2007). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BROKEN PARADISE by Cecilia Samartin
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Feb. 6, 2007

"Histrionics aside, an insider account with real teeth."
Pre- and post-revolutionary Cuba as seen through the eyes of a young refugee. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: Sept. 27, 2011

"This richly rendered but unfocused novel needs more action and less art history to keep readers intrigued."
A coveted painting of the Immaculate Conception connects the lives of women past and present in Velástegui's ambitious debut novel. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

VIGIL by Cecilia Samartin
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: July 21, 2009

"Earnest, but the main characters' saintliness dilutes the drama."
A nun-in-training finds her true calling caring for a dysfunctional Angeleno family in Samartin's determinedly upbeat third novel (Tarnished Beauty, 2008, etc.). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SEVEN DAYS OF YOU by Cecilia Vinesse
YOUNG ADULT
Released: March 7, 2017

"Have some tissues handy for the ending. (Fiction. 14-18)"
Fans of Nick and Norah's Infinite Playlist and Lost in Translation will find good company in this whirlwind romance set in Tokyo. Read full book review >