Search Results: "Cecilia Velástegui"


BOOK REVIEW

PARISIAN PROMISES by Cecilia Velástegui
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: March 18, 2014

"An elusive tale of love, sex and mind games."
In Velástegui's (Trace of Bliss, 2011, etc.) novel, an American girl studying abroad in 1970s Paris finds herself risking her safety as well as her heart. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: Sept. 27, 2011

"This richly rendered but unfocused novel needs more action and less art history to keep readers intrigued."
A coveted painting of the Immaculate Conception connects the lives of women past and present in Velástegui's ambitious debut novel. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TRACES OF BLISS by Cecilia Velástegui
Released: March 24, 2012

"Though the book is at times difficult to follow, it is nevertheless a beautifully written story of love, loss and opportunity."
Velástegui's psychological thriller is a dark tale of angst and redemption spanning centuries. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: Sept. 4, 2013

"Fortified by vibrant characters and a tenacious plot; it packs a mean punch when readers least expect it."
A hike on the Inca Trail to Machu Picchu leads a group of Ivy League women into the crux of deceit and debauchery in Velástegui's novel. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE PATRON SAINT OF BUTTERFLIES by Cecilia Galante
ANIMALS
Released: May 1, 2008

"Readers will be amazed by Agnes and Honey's strength to enter a brave new world of Big Macs and automatic doors—and independence and unconditional love. (Fiction. 12-16)"
Agnes fasts and self-mutilates to emulate the martyrs depicted in her copy of The Saints' Way, while orphaned Honey would rather contemplate the beauty of butterflies than the religious rhetoric they have been forced to follow from their oppressive leader, Emmanuel. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SEXCRIME by Cecilia Tan
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: May 31, 2000

"Gardner Dozois, etc.) of minimal interest."
More erotic fiction edited by Tan (Black Feathers, 1998, etc.), this comprising 12 tales, 1993-2000, half of which have been published before in other collections; the book itself first appeared in Canada in January. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SEVEN DAYS OF YOU by Cecilia Vinesse
YOUNG ADULT
Released: March 7, 2017

"Have some tissues handy for the ending. (Fiction. 14-18)"
Fans of Nick and Norah's Infinite Playlist and Lost in Translation will find good company in this whirlwind romance set in Tokyo. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

STEALING OUR WAY HOME by Cecilia Galante
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 27, 2017

"A heartbreaking, uplifting ode to staying true to family even in the worst of times. (Fiction. 10-14)"
What wouldn't a desperate man do to help his children? What wouldn't desperate kids do to save their dad and themselves? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WOLF WINTER by Cecilia Ekbäck
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 27, 2015

"This snapshot of life in a place where winter can be unspeakably cruel, where simply staying alive is a victory, proves irresistible."
Ekbäck takes readers on a journey to Swedish Lapland in 1717, a harsh and unforgiving place where the supernatural bleeds over into the difficult lives of the few settlers trying to make it through a hardscrabble winter. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DRAWN by Cecilia Gray
Released: Dec. 12, 2013

"A commendable YA novel with thriller, romance and coming-of-age elements in one neat package."
At just 16, Sasha, a CIA agent formerly with the FBI, employs her unique skill in this absorbing YA political espionage thriller. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A WOMAN ENTANGLED by Cecilia Grant
ROMANCE
Released: June 25, 2013

"An emotionally rich, sensually lush romance."
Beautiful Kate Westbrook is bound and determined to find the perfect mate who will usher her back into her rightful place in the haut ton; she is absolutely not interested in handsome, honorable Nick Blackshear—no matter how much her heart may tell her otherwise. Read full book review >