Search Results: "Charles Allen"


BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: May 1, 2001

"Though uncritical in his admiration for British arms, Allen provides a rousing and informative yarn that will appeal to fans of Lives of the Bengal Lancers and Gunga Din."
Unsung heroes of the Raj get treated to an extended fanfare. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Oct. 1, 2012

"Lovers of intense research will enjoy this book. Readers with no sense of Indian history or geography and little archaeological curiosity will get bored."
A prolific chronicler of India, Allen (Kipling Sahib: India and the Making of Rudyard Kipling, 2009, etc.) shows just how addictive the country can be. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: April 1, 2003

"Well written, well researched: a pleasant excursion in comparative religion and British colonial history."
A first-rate account of the colonial officers and scholars, mostly British, who picked through the ruins and lost libraries of India to recover the founding texts and artifacts of Buddhism. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: March 15, 2009

"A deeply sympathetic look at the young author and his milieu."
Historian Allen (God's Terrorists, 2005, etc.) chronicles the British author's early years. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Sept. 1, 2006

"This narrative has a grafted-on feel, but it is still of use to those seeking to understand the origins and growth of Islamic extremism."
Allen joins 9/11 to his long-standing interest in the soldier/scholar adventurers of the British Raj and turns up some interesting nuggets on Islamic fundamentalism. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

CHARLES TAYLOR

Reliant as they were on call girls, cars, corpses, and Kris Kristofferson, the B-movies of the 1970s may not qualify as high art, according to cultural critic Charles Taylor, but at least they took American audiences seriously.

“For me, the staying power of these movies has to do with the way they stand in opposition to the current juvenile state ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: May 10, 2012

"A moving story of one man's success in producing healthy food for those who need it the most."
Urban farming with a passion. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

YOUR BEST BETS FOR FASCINATING SF/F/H READS IN JULY
by John DeNardo

Summer reading season is in full swing, and if you'd like to join the beach party, there's plenty of entertainment to be found in the pages of science fiction, fantasy, and horror books. July's cream of the crop includes stories about a robot hitman, a dark and previously unseen perspective on Peter Pan, a woman with supernatural ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

THE SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY BOOKS EVERYONE WILL BE TALKING ABOUT IN APRIL
by John DeNardo

April is bringing a whole new enticing batch of science fiction and fantasy books that will stretch your imagination. Here's a selection of the ones that will be generating the most buzz. You'll find fallen angels, Death's assistant, human refugees in space, a revolution against the One Percent, matriarchal lunar colonies, giant robots, genetic thrills, biotech-weird, and ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

A BOY AND HIS SKUNK
by Leila Roy

“I love him,” Bat said. He hadn’t meant to say it out loud. Mom laughed. “Careful, or you might make me jealous,” she said.
“But it’s true,” Bat said. “I love him.” 
Mom said they’d have to hand the kit over to the rescue center in a month. But Bat, holding the tiny animal in ...

Read the full post >

BLOG POST

START YOUR READING YEAR OFF RIGHT WITH JANUARY'S BEST SCIENCE FICTION AND FANTASY BOOKS
by John DeNardo

Another year of reading begins! What better way to start it off than with books that will stretch your imagination? This month's selection of the best science fiction and fantasy reads offers sword and sorcery, eldritch horrors, a richly-imagined forest world, deals with the Devil in the Old West, espionage across parallel worlds, and a 25th Century whodunit ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Aug. 1, 1992

"By no means a definitive biography, but not flack-fluff either; and, for all its slant, the most informative text available on the man who would be President. (Sixteen pages of photographs- -not seen.)"
If Clinton wins the White House, he should consider choosing as his press secretary either author of this subtle panegyric. ``This biography,'' write Allen and Portis, ``is a thorough examination of a man who dreamed of being president...from his earliest days.'' Thorough, perhaps, but also delicately biased. Read full book review >