Search Results: "Charles F. Allen"


BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Aug. 1, 1992

"By no means a definitive biography, but not flack-fluff either; and, for all its slant, the most informative text available on the man who would be President. (Sixteen pages of photographs- -not seen.)"
If Clinton wins the White House, he should consider choosing as his press secretary either author of this subtle panegyric. ``This biography,'' write Allen and Portis, ``is a thorough examination of a man who dreamed of being president...from his earliest days.'' Thorough, perhaps, but also delicately biased. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Oct. 1, 2012

"Lovers of intense research will enjoy this book. Readers with no sense of Indian history or geography and little archaeological curiosity will get bored."
A prolific chronicler of India, Allen (Kipling Sahib: India and the Making of Rudyard Kipling, 2009, etc.) shows just how addictive the country can be. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: March 15, 2009

"A deeply sympathetic look at the young author and his milieu."
Historian Allen (God's Terrorists, 2005, etc.) chronicles the British author's early years. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Sept. 1, 2006

"This narrative has a grafted-on feel, but it is still of use to those seeking to understand the origins and growth of Islamic extremism."
Allen joins 9/11 to his long-standing interest in the soldier/scholar adventurers of the British Raj and turns up some interesting nuggets on Islamic fundamentalism. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: April 1, 2003

"Well written, well researched: a pleasant excursion in comparative religion and British colonial history."
A first-rate account of the colonial officers and scholars, mostly British, who picked through the ruins and lost libraries of India to recover the founding texts and artifacts of Buddhism. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: May 1, 2001

"Though uncritical in his admiration for British arms, Allen provides a rousing and informative yarn that will appeal to fans of Lives of the Bengal Lancers and Gunga Din."
Unsung heroes of the Raj get treated to an extended fanfare. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FREEDOM'S ALTAR by Charles F. Price
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: March 1, 1999

"Well written, and cutting deeply into the theme of racial prejudice."
The sequel to Price's Hiwassee (1996), answering some moral questions left hanging in the earlier novel. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

CHARLES TAYLOR

Reliant as they were on call girls, cars, corpses, and Kris Kristofferson, the B-movies of the 1970s may not qualify as high art, according to cultural critic Charles Taylor, but at least they took American audiences seriously.

“For me, the staying power of these movies has to do with the way they stand in opposition to the current juvenile state ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: May 10, 2012

"A moving story of one man's success in producing healthy food for those who need it the most."
Urban farming with a passion. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE EAGLE BIRD by Charles F. Wilkinson
NON-FICTION
Released: March 1, 1992

"Engaging if not particularly well-integrated, Wilkinson's essays exemplify the land-based ethical systems now developing among progressive western thinkers and honorably maintain the nature-upholding tradition of John Muir and Aldo Leopold."
In 12 pithy essays, an environmental lawyer debunks romantic myths of ranchers, miners, and foresters as ``heroes of the West,'' and denounces ``extreme laissez-faire'' government policies that have allowed these ``heroes'' to devastate the land, water, and air for their private profit. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: March 11, 2014

"A scrupulously intellectual but enormously conservative program for restoring 'traditional morality.'"
An elaborate, prudish philosophical program for combating the moral meaninglessness of modern life. Read full book review >