Search Results: "Chris Martin"


BOOK REVIEW

N-SPACE by Chris Martin
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: April 27, 2011

"Martin's varied literary structure and assimilation of human emotions, fused with a fast-paced, imaginative storyline and realistic science fiction will leave audiences marveling over Maines' adventures in n-Space."
In Martin's collection of science-fiction stories, Lt. Jana Maines steers merchant ships of the Space Trading Commission through the fourth dimension, known as n-Space. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

MY CHILDREN'S BOOK GHOST FILE
by Julie Danielson

Over at NPR last week, I heard a pop culture critic talk (here) about what he calls his Ghost File, or the books, television shows, and movies he didn’t review during the year. “[I]t's the great frustration,” he said, “that every year I'm haunted by all the terrific things I haven't talked about … ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

THERE IS ONLY ONE by Chris Johnston
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 28, 2015

"A lightweight but feel-good parable for fans of angel-encounter stories."
A short tale about a man whose life is changed by a mysterious encounter at the foot of a mountain. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

A THING OF WONDER
by Julie Danielson

Here is something poet and Newbery author Kwame Alexander writes in the preface of his brand-new book, Out of Wonder: Poems Celebrating Poets, coming to shelves in March. I think I literally applauded when I read this, since sadly, poetry is sometimes the neglected child in language arts educational programs across the country:

“I remember reading and reading lots of ...

Read the full post >

BLOG POST

THE LAST, THE FIRST, THE BEST
by Julie Danielson

Because it’s the holidays, I had some down time this week to look through some early-2017 picture book releases. At the same time, however, 2016 isn’t quite over yet, so today I’m going to tell you about two expertly crafted picture books – one out this week in the last gasp of this year and one that hits bookshelves just ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

THE SNOW BEAST by Chris Judge
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2015

"The short and clever text and colorful images make this book a great read-aloud for wintertime story hours and cozy nights at home with the little ones. (Picture book. 3-7)"
A quirky and snowy tale of affable beasts and friendship in unexpected places. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SHH! WE HAVE A PLAN by Chris Haughton
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 9, 2014

"Sure to 'net' young audiences, who will definitely root for the birds. (Picture book. 5-7)"
A peace-waging parable, presented with wry minimalism à la Jon Klassen or Tomi Ungerer. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHICKENHARE by Chris Grine
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 5, 2013

"Twisted, weird and fun. (Graphic fantasy/adventure. 9-14)

"
Why did the Chickenhare cross the wintry terrain? Why, to flee a maniacal taxidermist, of course. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PETER AND THE WOLF by Chris Raschka
ANIMALS
Released: Oct. 7, 2008

"Among the plethora of Peters, his stands out for its seamless, jazzy match of verbal and visual exuberance. (Picture book. 6-8)"
Language chosen for its sound at least as much as for its meaning lends an improvisatory air to this rendition of Prokofiev's musical tale, and theatrical illustrations definitely kick things up an additional notch. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MONKEY WITH A TOOL BELT AND THE SEASIDE SHENANIGANS by Chris Monroe
ANIMALS
Released: Oct. 1, 2011

"Fact-filled fun for the curious fixer-in-training. (Picture book. 4-8) "
Chico fixes a whole bunch of stuff at the beach and solves a mystery, too. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LITTLE BLACK CROW by Chris Raschka
ANIMALS
Released: Aug. 31, 2010

"This quiet book that positions the child as a curious observer of the natural world is a little picture-book gem. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Reminiscent of Christopher Myers's Black Cat (1999), but set in a rural rather than an urban setting, a lyrical text muses about the daily life of the titular little black crow. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SNEAKY SHEEP by Chris Monroe
ANIMALS
Released: Sept. 1, 2010

"Fun for all. (Picture book. 3-8)"
Rocky and Blossom are sheep who have a reputation for disobedience and mischief. Read full book review >