Search Results: "Christina Conyers Williams"


BOOK REVIEW

Released: Oct. 15, 2012

"A thin, uneven recounting of a long congressional career."
In her debut, Williams offers a brief overview of the personal and professional life of her cousin, the long-serving Democratic U.S. Rep. John Conyers Jr. of Michigan. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

FAVORITES AND NEW DISCOVERIES
by Bobbi Dumas

Hi friends!

As I prepare for another year to roll in, I thought I’d share some of my favorite reads and new discoveries from 2016.

Some of you may know this has been a bit of a tumultuous year for me, but I was blessed to travel to a number of conferences, including RT, RWA, Chicago North’s Spring Fling, and ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

ESCAPE FROM POMPEII by Christina Balit
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 1, 2003

"A few morsels of fact, a few of story: likely only to whet readers' appetites for fuller accounts, such as Shelley Tanaka's Buried City of Pompeii (1997). (Historical fiction/picture book. 8-10)"
A sketchily told, if more elaborately illustrated, tale of Pompeii's destruction as witnessed by two young natives. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

JACK THE BEAR by Christina Leist
ANIMALS
Released: Oct. 1, 2009

"While the clever choices of creatures to represent their important human counterparts may elicit chuckles from adults, this well-meaning tale ultimately fails to be greater than the sum of its parts. (Picture book. 4-6)"
On the cover a kindly bear looks up with open arms to welcome readers into an exploration of what could make "the world a better place." Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ATLANTIS by Christina Balit
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 1, 2000

"A closing note by Geoffrey Ashe, author of Atlantis: Lost Lands, Ancient Wisdom (not reviewed), puts the tale into both historical and cultural perspective. (Picture book/folk tale. 8-10)"
Balit (Twelve Labors of Hercules, 1997) recasts Ancient World accounts into a spare narrative, describing Atlantis's creation as Poseidon's wedding gift to his mortal bride Cleito, its idyllic early history, gradual descent into lawlessness, and final punitive submergence. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

GRATEFUL FOR ROMANCE—AND SUSPENSE!
by Bobbi Dumas

Happy Thanksgiving everyone!

It’s been a tough month for a lot of people, and I’ve been thinking how wonderful it is to have really good books to sink into, especially the kind that offer hope and a guaranteed happy-ever-after. I know when I look at my many to-be-read and to-be-listened to queues, I find myself turning more and more to ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

SUBLIME by Christina Lauren
ROMANCE
Released: Oct. 14, 2014

"For die-hard fans of Bella and Edward only—pun very much intended. (Paranormal romance. 13 & up)"
An orphaned adrenaline junkie falls for a dead girl, and the doomed, love-struck couple learns they can only truly "be together" (cough) in the realm between the living and the dead. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

KISS CRUSH COLLIDE by Christina Meredith
FAMILY AND GROWING UP
Released: Jan. 1, 2012

"Although the most intriguing thread of the book is familial, this tame G-rated story will appeal largely to girls who enjoy romances. (Fiction. 13 & up)"
The summer before her senior year of high school, a girl who seemingly has it all—money, looks, smarts and social position—falls for a dazzlingly handsome but mildly unsuitable boy. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE SIDE OF THE ANGELS by Christina Bartolomeo
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 1, 2001

"A fine, funny, and deft blue-collar valentine from Bartolomeo (Cupid and Diana, 1998)."
Can a D.C. publicist find true love with a union organizer? Oh, yes. Twice. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WHERE WE LIVED by Christina Fitzpatrick
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: July 3, 2001

"Earnest and conventional takes on growing up, too carefully wrought to resonate."
A first novel about five girls raised in the same town trying to survive painful childhoods and learn how to live on their own. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: Nov. 1, 2001

"Elegant minimalism that creates lasting images."
Twenty-six brief stories, organized like a medieval bestiary representing animals A through Z. Read full book review >