Search Results: "Christina Meredith"


BOOK REVIEW

KISS CRUSH COLLIDE by Christina Meredith
FAMILY AND GROWING UP
Released: Jan. 1, 2012

"Although the most intriguing thread of the book is familial, this tame G-rated story will appeal largely to girls who enjoy romances. (Fiction. 13 & up)"
The summer before her senior year of high school, a girl who seemingly has it all—money, looks, smarts and social position—falls for a dazzlingly handsome but mildly unsuitable boy. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

RED VELVET CRUSH by Christina Meredith
YOUNG ADULT
Released: June 14, 2016

"Though the ending leans toward melodrama, this fast-paced story of sibling rivalry and betrayal should appeal to a wide teen audience. (Fiction. 13-17)"
Meredith explores the difficult relationship between two sisters: one who harbors a secret talent and the other who lusts after any spotlight. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BABY BRIGHT by Samantha Meredith
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 2014

"A genial and gentle offering for the youngest readers. (Board book. 0-1)"
Simple graphics in black, white, green, yellow and gold foil introduce babies to a variety of animals and objects. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE FAVOURITE by Meredith Daneman
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: April 6, 1994

In her third book, British novelist Daneman (A Chance to Sit Down, 1972) plays erotic geometry with the oedipal triangle—but it all seems flat as a plane in the end. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

POSED FOR MURDER by Meredith Cole
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Feb. 17, 2009

"Cole's fiction debut, winner of the St. Martin's Minotaur/Malice Domestic Best First Traditional Mystery Novel Competition, is amiable, well-plotted and just a bit stiff."
Who's stalking the aspiring photographer and knocking off her models? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Feb. 7, 2017

"An important story well told, featuring the drama and characters needed to make this a candidate for film adaptation."
A dramatic medical history that reveals the progress and the stumbles, the personalities and the rivalries, in the race to find a vaccine for rubella, or German measles. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

7 Secrets of Happiness Your Brain Doesn't Want You to Know by Kevin Meredith
NON-FICTION
Released: Feb. 20, 2012

"An unusual, easy-to-follow examination of some perplexing aspects of human behavior."
In his debut self-help book, Meredith offers suggestions for dealing with the human brain's evolutionary heritage in order to enhance happiness. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: May 10, 2011

"The author does a superb job of describing the nuts-and-bolts of field research, the meaning of the often headline-producing findings and the ever-changing variety of species who split off from the common ancestors of chimpanzees and hominids."
An appealing account of human evolution and the fiercely competitive anthropologists who are unearthing our ancestors' remains and arguing over what they mean. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE SINGLES by Meredith Goldstein
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: April 24, 2012

"Charming wedding farce with a bit of depth."
Five unmarried guests manage to come together—and fall apart—during an upscale wedding at a Maryland country club. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

MEREDITH WADMAN
by Alexia Nader

Meredith Wadman found the story that would become her first book The Vaccine Race: Science, Politics and the Human Costs of Defeating Disease in a reader letter in a 2012 edition of Science magazine. In response to a policy forum about whether tissue donors should be compensated for their contribution to medical research, prompted by Rebecca Skloot’s book The Immortal ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

JACK THE BEAR by Christina Leist
ANIMALS
Released: Oct. 1, 2009

"While the clever choices of creatures to represent their important human counterparts may elicit chuckles from adults, this well-meaning tale ultimately fails to be greater than the sum of its parts. (Picture book. 4-6)"
On the cover a kindly bear looks up with open arms to welcome readers into an exploration of what could make "the world a better place." Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SOPHOMORE YEAR IS GREEK TO ME by Meredith Zeitlin
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 21, 2015

"Fans of Sarah Mlynowski, Stephanie Perkins and Louise Rennison will enjoy this squeaky-clean travel adventure about the strength of family and the power of new experiences. (Fiction. 11-15)"
A dyed-in-the-wool New York teen discovers her Greek roots in this breezy novel by the author of Freshman Year & Other Unnatural Disasters (2012).Read full book review >