Search Results: "Christina Wald"


BOOK REVIEW

WHY THE POSSUM HAS A LARGE GRIN by Johnette Downing
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 15, 2012

"Nothing to smile about. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Possum convinces hungry Deer to bang his head into a tree full of ripe persimmons, a sight that amuses the trickster so much that his grin sticks forever. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A COOL SUMMER TAIL by Carrie A. Pearson
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 2014

"With its companion volume, a first introduction to the topic. (Informational picture book. 3-7)"
The curious animals of A Warm Winter Tail (2011) return (in the same order), this time to ask their companions or respective parents how humans cool off. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE FORT ON FOURTH STREET by Lois Spangler
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2013

"Readers will be 'plane' inclined to ditch this screw-up. (Informational picture book. 7-9)"
An introduction to simple machines that goes wrong at "Fort" and just gets worse. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A WARM WINTER TAIL by Carrie A. Pearson
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 10, 2012

"A good first look at adaptations that stands above others despite its sometimes imperfect comparisons to humans. (Informational picture book. 3-7)"
A cozy "tail" compares the adaptations animals and humans have for surviving winter's chill. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CAO CHONG WEIGHS AN ELEPHANT by Songju Ma Daemicke
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 10, 2017

"Nicely produced and balanced in its instructive approach. (Picture book. 5-8)"
When a giant elephant arrives as a birthday present for the prime minister of Han, his 6-year-old prodigy son, Cao Chong, orchestrates a plan to measure the beast's weight. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

GRATEFUL FOR ROMANCE—AND SUSPENSE!
by Bobbi Dumas

Happy Thanksgiving everyone!

It’s been a tough month for a lot of people, and I’ve been thinking how wonderful it is to have really good books to sink into, especially the kind that offer hope and a guaranteed happy-ever-after. I know when I look at my many to-be-read and to-be-listened to queues, I find myself turning more and more to ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

MAKING OLD STORIES NEW WITH DONNA JO NAPOLI
by Julie Danielson

Adventure, magic, love, and betrayal. That’s what the sub-title of Donna Jo Napoli’s newest book, Tales From the Arabian Nights, promises readers. In this ambitious and handsomely-designed collection, illustrated by Christina Balit, Napoli gathers a selection of these ancient stories, 45 of the original 1,001 “nights.” Her respect for the legendary tales is evident in not only her ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

FAVORITES AND NEW DISCOVERIES
by Bobbi Dumas

Hi friends!

As I prepare for another year to roll in, I thought I’d share some of my favorite reads and new discoveries from 2016.

Some of you may know this has been a bit of a tumultuous year for me, but I was blessed to travel to a number of conferences, including RT, RWA, Chicago North’s Spring Fling, and ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 23, 1996

"Wald writes with a simplicity and frankness that are unusual but perfectly suited to her subject."
Strange and unsettling stories of sadomasochism (originally self-published) from a newcomer who obviously knows the territory. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: Oct. 1, 2001

"It's a huge business, drugs, drug-fueled revolution, and singing about them, and Wald does a superb job of taking his readers into that world."
A fascinating journey south and north of the border on the trail of songs about marijuana, cocaine, and Monica Lewinsky. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Jan. 1, 2004

"Some solid observations ultimately get mired in the Mississippi mud."
A reconsideration of the Mississippi blues singer's legend in the context of the popular music of his time. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: June 1, 2009

"One of those rare books that aims to upend received wisdom and actually succeeds."
A bracing, inclusive look at the dramatic transformation in the way music was produced and listened to during the 20th century. Read full book review >