Search Results: "Christopher E. Long"


BOOK REVIEW

HERO WORSHIP by Christopher E. Long
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Jan. 8, 2014

"While these characters might not be patient enough to read a 264-page book, they're so memorable that readers might wish their story could have lasted a little longer, at least another chapter or two. (Adventure. 12-18)"
This is a superhero story for the post-punk era: Live fast, die young, and take over the world. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

CHOOSING YOUR OWN PATH
by Leila Roy

Everyone wants something different from me. It’s like one second, I should be a better dude. I should stop being such a girly douche, and I should just man up. Then, it’s the opposite: I’m too much of a guy, and it’s not right. I should be a girl, because that’s what I’m supposed to be.

The thing is, I’m ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

ALEJANDRO'S GIFT by Richard E. Albert
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 1994

"A likable, beautifully presented picture of a human being responding to his natural surroundings with sensitivity and imagination. (Picture book. 4-8)"
In his first children's book, an 84-year-old depicts a homely desert sage: white-bearded Alejandro, who welcomes visitors who stop for water from his well. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

WILD AND WONDERFUL
by Julie Danielson

At the end of John Cage and Lois Long’s Mud Book, we see a birthday cake made out of mud with dried dandelions for candles. To boot, we’ve been instructed prior to that precisely how to make a mud cake. “Make a wish,” this last page states with unequivocal glee.

I love this. Could there be a better antidote ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

BOOKS I'M LOOKING FORWARD TO IN JUNE 2017
by Leila Roy

Here we are, at the beginning of summer! (Well, supposedly we’re at the beginning of summer—it’s been cold enough here in Maine that we’re still making fires!)

Anyway! Here are a few of the books I’m looking forward to this month:

Saints and Misfits, by S.K. Ali

This book is easily—EASILY—at the top of my June Want List. I’ve ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

HI! by Ethan Long
Kirkus Star
by Ethan Long, illustrated by Ethan Long
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 5, 2015

"A completely satisfying, age-appropriate package. (Board book. 6 mos.-2)"
A clever, deceptively simple board book introduces animal sounds. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

OUT OF THE BOX by Ethan Long
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 11, 2014

"The perfect choice for after a move or whenever boxes are handy. (Early reader. 5-8)"
Cardboard boxes may never seem dull again. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE WING WING BROTHERS GEOMETRY PALOOZA! by Ethan Long
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2014

"Though the slapstick from their hysterical debut, The Wing Wing Brothers Math Spectacular (2012), is evident, the painless-learning piece is still missing. (Math picture book. 4-6)"
Those wild Wing Wing Brothers are back in their third escapade, this time exploring geometry. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHAMELIA AND THE NEW KID IN CLASS by Ethan Long
CHILDREN'S
Released: July 2, 2013

"Giving up the starring role isn't easy, but readers may appreciate Chamelia's example. (Picture book. 4-7)"
The unique Chamelia is back, but this time her antics and loud outfits aren't enough to make her the center of attention, a position that has been stolen by the new kid in school, Cooper. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE WING WING BROTHERS MATH SPECTACULAR! by Ethan Long
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 15, 2012

"This is how learning math should be—painless, comical and, yes, spectacular. (Math picture book. 4-8)"
The vaudevillian Wing Wing Brothers' attempts to outdo and upstage each other are sure to cause some giggles…and ideally some math learning, as well. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DRUMMER BOY by Loren Long
by Loren Long, illustrated by Loren Long
ADVENTURE
Released: Oct. 2, 2008

"The Steadfast Tin Soldier" meets "The Little Drummer Boy" in this original, sentimental tale that carries a wistful tone unusual in Christmas stories. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SYVLIA LONG’S THUMBELINA by Sylvia Long
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2010

"The illustrator has made a lush and vivid world for her Thumbelina to inhabit. (Fairy tale. 5-9)"
Long hews very closely to the Hans Christian Andersen tale, in which a woman longing for a child finds a tiny one in a flower grown from an enchanted barley seed given to her by a fairy. Read full book review >