Search Results: "Christopher Eliopoulos"


BOOK REVIEW

I AM ABRAHAM LINCOLN by Brad Meltzer
CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 14, 2014

"Successful neither as biography nor sermon. (photographs, archival illustration) (Picture book. 4-7)"
Our 16th president is presented as an activist for human and civil rights. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

I AM AMELIA EARHART by Brad Meltzer
CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 14, 2014

"Skip. (photographs) (Picture book. 3-6)"
The ever-popular pioneering female pilot gets a breezy and very incomplete biography. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

I AM ALBERT EINSTEIN by Brad Meltzer
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 16, 2014

"Another pointless entry in a series intended to inspire more than inform. (Picture book. 3-6)"
The brilliant 20th-century scientist exhorts readers to keep asking questions. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

I AM ROSA PARKS by Brad Meltzer
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 17, 2014

"A barely serviceable introduction with far more child appeal than substance. (Picture book/biography. 3-7)"
Following introductions to Amelia Earhart and Abraham Lincoln, this third title in the set introduces an iconic figure in the civil rights movement. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

I AM JACKIE ROBINSON by Brad Meltzer
CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 8, 2015

"A memorable life—a forgettable presentation. (photographs, timeline, sources, further reading) (Picture book/biography. 3-6)"
Baseball's No. 42 strikes out. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

COSMIC COMMANDOS by Christopher Eliopoulos
written and illustrated by Christopher Eliopoulos
CHILDREN'S
Released: July 4, 2017

"Even if the comic versions of Jeremy and Justin don't have further adventures, readers will look for Eliopoulos' next venture into kids' comics with anticipation. (Graphic adventure. 7-10)"
Could identical twins be less identical? If these two can't work together, Earth is in trouble! Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

I AM JIM HENSON by Brad Meltzer
CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 10, 2017

"Nearly every child will know his work already: here's at least a superficial glimpse of his character. (photos, timeline, bibliography) (Picture book/biography. 3-6)"
Meltzer holds up the great Muppeteer as a role model. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DANDLE & LION by Louis Eliopoulos
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: Nov. 29, 2014

"An engaging effort, though it reads mostly like a bridge between more eventful books."
The second book in Eliopoulos' (The Mythic Forest, 2013) Fabelwald saga tells the tale of twins Dandle and Lion, children of the first volume's Erich and Rapunzel, as they begin to discover the magic inside them and the struggle between Light and Dark that defines the world around them.Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BUN, ONION, BURGER by Peter Mandel
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 8, 2010

"Skip this—buy burgers and fixings instead. (Picture book. 3-6)"
A disappointingly ho-hum salute to that summertime classic, the hamburger. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE WRATH OF ZOZIMOS by Christopher Ford
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 1, 2012

"The jokes are funnier than in volume one, but readers may wish there were more space between them. (Graphic adventure. 11-14)"
This graphic novel is an epic at the speed of a flipbook. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ANIMAL SURPRISE! by Christopher Gunson
ANIMALS
Released: Feb. 1, 2003

"Full-bleed backgrounds of bold color that set off the central figure in their equally bright palettes are the perfect accompaniment to this surprising and engaging offering. (Picture book. 1-4)"
Intensely colored vignettes feature a menagerie of animals as they tell their brief and funny tales. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

JOHN DENVER’S TAKE ME HOME, COUNTRY ROADS by Christopher Canyon
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 1, 2005

Canyon has outdone himself in his second pairing with a John Denver tune, this one about returning home to the place of his roots. Read full book review >