Search Results: "Christopher Paul Curtis"


BOOK REVIEW

THE MADMAN OF PINEY WOODS by Christopher Paul Curtis
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 30, 2014

"Beautiful storytelling as only Curtis can do it. (author's note) (Historical fiction. 9-13)"
Forty years after Elijah Freeman's exploits in Elijah of Buxton (2007), 13-year-olds Benji Alston and Red Stockard become friends as Curtis revisits Buxton, Ontario, in a fine companion novel. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ELIJAH OF BUXTON by Christopher Paul Curtis
FICTION
Released: Sept. 1, 2007

"This is Curtis's best novel yet, and no doubt many readers, young and old, will finish and say, 'This is one of the best books I have ever read.' (author's note) (Fiction. 9+)"
Eleven-year-old Elijah Freeman is known for two things: being the first child born free in Buxton, Canada, and throwing up on the great Frederick Douglass. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ANIMALS
Released: Jan. 23, 2007

"Readers will need to have read the first of the series to understand the characters and to go on to future volumes to see how this story ends. (Fiction. 8-11)"
The Flint Future Detectives return and, along with their newest member, Richelle Cyrus-Herndon, follow Russell's dog through a wall mural into Ourside. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MR. CHICKEE’S FUNNY MONEY by Christopher Paul Curtis
ANIMALS
Released: Oct. 11, 2005

"Another winner from a master storyteller. (Fiction. 8-11)"
When Mr. Chickee gives fourth-grader Steven Carter a special present, he sets in motion this first in a humorous series starring the Flint Future Detectives. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BUCKING THE SARGE by Christopher Paul Curtis
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 14, 2004

"Told in Luther's jivey, colloquial voice, enriched by Curtis's cast of large-hearted survivors, and enlivened by his coruscating style, this is another winner—or, as Luther might say, a 'three-peat.' (Fiction. 10-16)"
Luther's hard-driving mother, "Sarge," has built personal life and financial empire (slum housing, group homes, loan sharking business) through belief in two things: herself and money. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 10, 2012

"Deza is one great heroine in her own right, a fitting literary companion to Bud Caldwell. (Historical fiction. 9-12)"
Deza Malone had a brief appearance in Curtis' multiple-award-winning novel, Bud, Not Buddy (Newbery Medal and Coretta Scott King Author Award, 2000). Now, she is the dynamic and engaging heroine of her own story. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 1, 1995

"Curtis tries to shoehorn in more characters and subplots than the story will comfortably bear—as do many first novelists—but he creates a well-knit family and a narrator with a distinct, believable voice. (Fiction. 10-12)"
Curtis debuts with a ten-year-old's lively account of his teenaged brother's ups and downs. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PIRATES EAT PORRIDGE by Christopher Morgan
ADVENTURE
Released: Sept. 1, 2007

"Fans of Lane Smith and Jon Scieszka will find lots to laugh at here. (Fiction. 8-10)"
Billy is the sort of boy who likes to sit in his treehouse and ponder the great questions: "Do clouds talk to each other? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BARNYARD SLAM by Dian Curtis Regan
ANIMALS
Released: Aug. 15, 2009

"The successful result is high-spirited, lighthearted barnyard banter. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Behind closed barn doors, boisterous farm animals perform at an open-mike poetry slam. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

UNDERCOVER TAILBACK by Matt Christopher
CHILDREN'S
Released: Dec. 1, 1992

"Illustrations not seen. (Fiction. 10-12)"
When Parker Nolan sees a spy sneak out of Coach Isaac's office, his penchant for telling wild stories comes back to haunt him: his teammates laugh him off when he tries to tell them that a copy of the Kensington Kudzus' secret playbook has fallen into their rivals' hands. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Dec. 22, 2014

"A memoir with humor, compassion, and a sharp eye for detail that vividly depicts the rigors and pleasures of working security at a metropolitan hotel."
A promising young actor becomes a bouncer at the Standard Hotel in downtown Los Angeles in this debut memoir. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SKATEBOARD TOUGH by Matt Christopher
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 1, 1991

"Four b&w illustrations capture the main characters' personalities. (Fiction. 9-11)"
Brett Thyson finds a skateboard buried in his new yard and suddenly can perform tricks with it that he's never even seen, much less tried. Read full book review >