Search Results: "Clare Hawthorne"


BOOK REVIEW

Margin of Eros by Clare Hawthorne
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Aug. 25, 2013

"A thoroughly entertaining novel of movie-industry titans."
Greek gods run amok in modern-day Hollywood in this first comic novel of a planned trilogy. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CONSEQUENCES OF SIN by Clare Langley-Hawthorne
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Feb. 19, 2007

"An engaging heroine, the lure of romance, a rapid pace and the requisite period detail."
Sins of the past turn an Edwardian lady's bright future into a nightmare. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE SERPENT AND THE SCORPION by Clare Langley-Hawthorne
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 1, 2008

"Ursula's second period adventure caps its romance and mystery with a shocking climax that broadly hints at its heroine's next outing."
Pre-World War I England is a seething cauldron of conflicting ideologies as Bolsheviks, suffragettes, socialists and merchants of death battle for control. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: June 19, 2012

"Hawthorne's research provides clear, rational insights into our ethical choices, empowering us to be savvy shoppers."
Brands popular both for their social currency and image of social responsibility go under journalist Hawthorne's (The Overloaded Liberal: Shopping, Investing, Parenting, and Other Daily Dilemmas in an Age of Political Activism, 2010, etc.) microscope in this exploration of how closely the ethical words match up to corporate actions. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SILENT SUSPECT by Tony Hawthorne
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Oct. 31, 2014

"Strong characters, an intriguing story, and a brisk pace make for a highly readable legal thriller."
Hawthorne's debut novel follows a Cape Cod lawyer who defends a mute old woman with memory loss in her trial for a 50-year-old murder in a hostile Southern town. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TEMPORARY HOMELANDS by Alison Hawthorne Deming
NON-FICTION
Released: Aug. 8, 1994

"Nature writing that refreshingly manages to educate, entertain, and move without once resorting to the bully pulpit."
Elegant essays that seek to understand rather than define our relationships with nature and the places we call home, by an award- winning poet and director of the Poetry Center at the University of Arizona. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ZOOLOGIES by Alison Hawthorne Deming
ESSAYS & ANTHOLOGIES
Released: Oct. 14, 2014

"Eloquent, sensitive and astute."
An award-winning essayist and poet contemplates the disappearance of the Earth's creatures and asks, "[w]hat do animals mean to the contemporary imagination?" Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Nov. 30, 1998

"A writer of skillful means and economy, Deming doesn't enter such terrain lightly, nor does she trifle with it: —What I am calling for is an ecology of culture in which we look for and foster our relatedness across disciplinary lines without forgetting our differences.' (Author tour)"
Poet Deming (Temporary Homelands, 1994) heads selectively for sundry outbacks in the hope of tapping wisdom from them on the prospects for our wild and open lands. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ARABELLA MILLER’S TINY CATERPILLAR by Clare Jarrett
ANIMALS
Released: Feb. 1, 2008

"Pleasing and useful, for storytimes as well as one-on-one sharing. (Picture book. 3-7)"
Expanding a familiar preschool finger rhyme, Jarrett delivers an appealing (and singable) confection capped with a double spread of facts about the life cycle of the butterfly. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

JAMIE by Clare Jarrett
by Clare Jarrett, illustrated by Clare Jarrett
ANIMALS
Released: July 1, 2002

"A particularly affectionate tale, full of tenderness and caring for its quaintly absurd bird and her caregivers. (Picture book. 3-6)"
The surprise of caring for a strange animal is jovially chronicled in this sweet intergenerational offering. Read full book review >