Search Results: "Claudia Bedrick"


BOOK REVIEW

BONNARD FROM A TO Z by Marie Sellier
BIOGRAPHY
Released: Feb. 1, 1998

"Bonnard's definition of a painting. (Picture book. 7-10)"
Sellier (Matisse from A to Z, 1995, etc.) has created another succinct biography told in ABC form, by matching one relevant French word to an aspect of the artist's life (Bulles for bubbles, as well as Ubu and Winterthur). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MATISSE FROM A TO Z by Marie Sellier
BIOGRAPHY
Released: Nov. 1, 1995

"Throughout, the joyous dance of colors and movement the artist created to sustain, record, and celebrate his own life is uplifting. (Biography. 7+)"
A French ABC, to be approached with heart and eyes wide open. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

EDMOND, THE MOONLIT PARTY by Astrid Desbordes
CHILDREN'S
Released: July 14, 2015

"Buy the book for the illustrations and for the concept of living in a tree, which every preschooler will love. (Picture book. 3-6)"
Three very different animal characters live in separate apartments in the old chestnut tree. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

POMELO'S OPPOSITES by Ramona Badescu
CHILDREN'S
Released: July 15, 2013

"Simple, sunny, silly illustrations brilliantly convey the complexities and joys one can unearth when tilling a garden of language. (Picture book. 4-6)"
Pomelo, a diminutive, round-eyed, pink elephant child, discovers opposites in his garden world. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LOUIS I, KING OF THE SHEEP by Olivier Tallec
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 22, 2015

"It's a political education—Schoolyard Politics 101—in a picture book, one well worth having on the bookshelf. (Picture book. 4-8)"
"And so it was one windy day that Louis the sheep thereby became Louis I, king of the sheep." And, Kurt Vonnegut would add, so it goes. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MONDAY by Anne Herbauts
by Anne Herbauts, illustrated by Anne Herbauts, translated by Claudia Zoe Bedrick
CHILDREN'S
Released: Dec. 1, 2006

"Readers sensitive to subtle verbal and visual nuances will best appreciate this semi-abstract Belgian import. (Picture book. 7-10)"
In a spare, deceptively simple meditation on time, change and renewal, Monday visits comfortably with friends Lester Day and Tom Morrow (get it?) but, increasingly bemused as entire successive seasons burst in with whirls of poetry—"I am Spring, / I am green, / I abound. / Into the wind I put its rustling sound. / I quiver, timid in the pinkness of a bud"—at last fades outright into a winter snowstorm. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE WONDERFUL FLUFFY LITTLE SQUISHY by Beatrice Alemagna
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 27, 2015

"An irrepressible heroine in an effervescent book. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Young Edith—Eddie to her friends—goes looking for the perfect birthday present for her mother. Fortunately she has lots of friends. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WEDNESDAY by Anne Bertier
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2014

"Bertier presents a marvelous springboard for using formal elements to create individual or collaborative narratives. (Picture book. 3-6)"
In the tradition of Leo Lionni's Little Blue and Little Yellow (1959), this French import uses geometric shapes, color and size to explore compatibility and conflict. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SOMETHING BIG by Sylvie Neeman
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 14, 2013

"A sweetly caught moment of youthful existentialism. (Picture book. 4-8)"
A little one wants to do something big, even though he is a little one. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

GUS IS A FISH by Claire Babin
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 29, 2008

"Would that every child have as wonderful an imagination as Gus, who in the meantime can serve as their role model. (Picture book. 3-7)"
This latest in the Gus series follows the eponymous, imaginative little boy as he turns his bathtub into a pond and himself into a fish by the simple act of placing his head underwater. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SCRITCH SCRATCH SCRAWW PLOP by Kitty Crowther
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 27, 2015

"A sweet treatment of a common theme. (Picture book. 2-6)"
In this French import, a little frog is afraid of nighttime sounds until his parents help him feel safe. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THREE LITTLE PEAS by Marine Rivoal
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 3, 2014

"A spot of exquisite rest in an overstimulated world. (Picture book. 2-5)"
Evocative details make this simple story a quiet delight. Read full book review >