Search Results: "Claudia Zoe Bedrick"


BOOK REVIEW

CHAGALL FROM A TO Z by Marie Sellier
BIOGRAPHY
Released: Dec. 15, 1996

"Small but brilliant full-color reproductions are included throughout. (Nonfiction. 8+)"
Chagall From A To Z ($14.95; Dec. 15, 1996; 60 pp.; 0-87226-478- 5): This little smorgasbord of Chagall (like its predecessor, Matisse from A to Z, 1995) lets readers taste bits and pieces of the dreams and flights of fantasy painted by this Russian artist. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PAUL & ANTOINETTE by Kerascoët
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 29, 2016

"That each little pig thoroughly subverts gender stereotypes is simply icing on one perfectly delightful cake. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Two sibling pigs who couldn't be more different spend the day together. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

STRONG AS A BEAR by Katrin Stangl
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 14, 2016

"A celebration of expression—in both senses of the word. (Picture book. 2-5)"
This German import employs fresh and familiar similes to examine the varied behaviors children exhibit throughout a day. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LITTLE BIRD by Germano Zullo
Kirkus Star
by Germano Zullo, illustrated by Albertine, translated by Claudia Zoe Bedrick
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2012

"Adult explication may be needed for the textual rubric; the visually told story is enthralling all on its own. (Picture book. 6-8, adult)"
Uplifting in more ways than one, this prizewinning import suggests that little things can change lives—and perhaps even the world. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BONNARD FROM A TO Z by Marie Sellier
BIOGRAPHY
Released: Feb. 1, 1998

"Bonnard's definition of a painting. (Picture book. 7-10)"
Sellier (Matisse from A to Z, 1995, etc.) has created another succinct biography told in ABC form, by matching one relevant French word to an aspect of the artist's life (Bulles for bubbles, as well as Ubu and Winterthur). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MATISSE FROM A TO Z by Marie Sellier
BIOGRAPHY
Released: Nov. 1, 1995

"Throughout, the joyous dance of colors and movement the artist created to sustain, record, and celebrate his own life is uplifting. (Biography. 7+)"
A French ABC, to be approached with heart and eyes wide open. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BERTOLT by Jacques Goldstyn
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 14, 2017

"Humor, contemplation, and masterful illustrations. (Picture book. 6-12)"
A character who resembles the Kilroy image of World War II—with the addition of a mobile body—reveals himself as an imaginative introvert. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE WONDERFUL FLUFFY LITTLE SQUISHY by Beatrice Alemagna
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 27, 2015

"An irrepressible heroine in an effervescent book. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Young Edith—Eddie to her friends—goes looking for the perfect birthday present for her mother. Fortunately she has lots of friends. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WEDNESDAY by Anne Bertier
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2014

"Bertier presents a marvelous springboard for using formal elements to create individual or collaborative narratives. (Picture book. 3-6)"
In the tradition of Leo Lionni's Little Blue and Little Yellow (1959), this French import uses geometric shapes, color and size to explore compatibility and conflict. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SOMETHING BIG by Sylvie Neeman
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 14, 2013

"A sweetly caught moment of youthful existentialism. (Picture book. 4-8)"
A little one wants to do something big, even though he is a little one. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

GUS IS A FISH by Claire Babin
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 29, 2008

"Would that every child have as wonderful an imagination as Gus, who in the meantime can serve as their role model. (Picture book. 3-7)"
This latest in the Gus series follows the eponymous, imaginative little boy as he turns his bathtub into a pond and himself into a fish by the simple act of placing his head underwater. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

EDMOND, THE MOONLIT PARTY by Astrid Desbordes
CHILDREN'S
Released: July 14, 2015

"Buy the book for the illustrations and for the concept of living in a tree, which every preschooler will love. (Picture book. 3-6)"
Three very different animal characters live in separate apartments in the old chestnut tree. Read full book review >