Search Results: "Copeland Marks"


BOOK REVIEW

Released: Nov. 16, 1994

"Could have been great, but doesn't quite make it."
Marks (Sephardic Cooking, not reviewed, etc.) has a good idea: promoting the grain that is the staple of North African cuisine. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: March 24, 1992

"An interesting collection of dishes, many of them new to Americans, from a cuisine family that is becoming increasingly popular with American Jews raised on more stolid Eastern European fare. (Photographs.)"
Marks, whose earlier cookbooks have featured such cuisines as Guatemalan, Burmese, and Indonesian, has ranged far and wide for this hefty collection, marking the 500th anniversary of the Jews' expulsion from Spain, that is held together by its focus on Sephardic Jewish and other related Jewish communities. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BLOOD MARKS by Bill Crider
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: June 18, 1991

"Not for gentle tastes, but a striking addition to the serial- killer subgenre—gory, repugnant, and gripping to its last ugly reverberation."
Crider, author of two so-so series (Evil at the Root, Dying Voices, etc.), takes a totally different tack in this gritty story of a serial killer. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MASTERFUL MARKS by Monte Beauchamp
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Sept. 2, 2014

"There's always a hit-or-miss quality to such projects, and some question over the selections, but what's great here is really terrific."
Graphic biographies of 16 of the most influential cartoonists by some of the great cartoonists they influenced. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

COLLECTIVE MARKS by Nancy N. Feldman
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: April 1, 2014

"Honest, tough-minded and beautiful."
Learning to train horses in the precise, artful discipline of dressage, a troubled teenage boy gains self-understanding. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIRTH MARKS by Sarah Dunant
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Oct. 13, 1992

"Thoughtful, tough-minded Hannah compares herself to every detective under the sun but P. D. James's Cordelia Gray, whose fans should welcome her with open arms."
When sometime private eye Hannah Wolfe is hired to track down Carolyn Hamilton, a missing ballet dancer, it doesn't take her long to find discrepancies between Carolyn's innocuous postcards to her guardian and her disappearance from London months ago. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BURN MARKS by Sara Paretsky
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: March 20, 1990

"Vic may still be lean and mean, but, here, her creator's style borders on the flabby."
Once again, Chicago's durable private-eye V.I. (Vicki) Warshawski is tangling with the forces of evil in her own hometown. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Nov. 2, 2015

"Rather than a nostalgic lament, this revelatory book celebrates an indelible cultural imprint."
An illuminating stroll through the decades of one of the most culturally significant streets in America. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE MARKS OF BIRTH by Pablo Medina
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: July 1, 1994

"Lyrical and stylish, this is a fine example of magical realism in the vein of Rudolfo Anaya and Gabriel Garc°a M†rquez."
An evocative novel about the trials and triumphs of a Hispanic family, from a Cuban-born poet and essayist (Exiled Memories, not reviewed). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FULL MARKS FOR TRYING by Brigid Keenan
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Aug. 2, 2016

"Keenan understands how much the world has changed and hopes her story will resonate with reflective readers who will appreciate her brief but warm glance back in time."
A memoir about "what it was like to grow up…in the 1940s, '50s, and '60s in a family that was, like Britain itself, facing and adapting to the enormous changes taking place around us with gathering speed." Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MARKS OF CAIN by Tom Knox
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: May 10, 2010

"Weak and unpersuasive."
An unattached London lawyer and company follow a strange map to a dark secret. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

X MARKS THE SCOT by Kaitlyn Dunnett
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Nov. 28, 2017

"Plenty of small-town atmosphere and deliciously dubious suspects lift this entry above the series average."
A mysterious dark-haired stranger, a treasure map, and a murder present yet another case for a durable amateur sleuth. Read full book review >