Search Results: "Corey Ann Haydu"


BOOK REVIEW

MAKING PRETTY by Corey Ann Haydu
YOUNG ADULT
Released: May 12, 2015

"This summer read has the ubiquitous quirkiness that has become a marker of contemporary adolescent realism and will appeal to fans of John Green and Rainbow Rowell. (Fiction. 15-18)"
Family, first love and the search for identity butt heads in this coming-of-age story set in the heat of a Manhattan summer. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LIFE BY COMMITTEE by Corey Ann Haydu
YOUNG ADULT
Released: May 13, 2014

"Looking for a book to read and discuss? This is it. (Fiction. 14-18)"
Sixteen-year-old Tabitha has a secret. She kissed someone else's boyfriend, and she liked it. And with the encouragement of a secret, online committee, she just might do it again. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

OCD LOVE STORY by Corey Ann Haydu
YOUNG ADULT
Released: July 23, 2013

"A raw and well-crafted alternative to run-of-the-mill teen romances that also addresses tough mental health issues head-on. (Fiction. 14 & up)"
Haydu's debut novel for teens is not for the emotionally faint of heart, but those who can withstand it won't ever regret accompanying Bea, a high school senior recently diagnosed with OCD, on a profoundly uncomfortable and frenetic journey dominated by her increasingly manic compulsions. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

RULES FOR STEALING STARS by Corey Ann Haydu
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 29, 2015

"A tough read, this story of tragedy, magic, and sisterhood does proffer some rewards for readers who stick with it. (Magical realism. 10-14)"
Four sisters escape a difficult home life by spending more and more time in their magical closets. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE CAREFUL UNDRESSING OF LOVE by Corey Ann Haydu
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 31, 2017

"A carefully layered exploration of the age-old question, 'Is it better to have loved and lost than never to have loved at all?' (Fiction. 14 & up)"
Smelling of lavender tea and sporting long hair and skeleton keys around their necks, the Devonairre Street Girls have grown accustomed to the stares and whispers that follow them through the streets of New York. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE SOMEDAY SUITCASE by Corey Ann Haydu
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 27, 2017

"A sharp, clear-cut piece that knows life is beautiful and sickness isn't. (Fiction. 10-13)"
If two people connect through symbiosis, what happens when one weakens? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: July 15, 2011

"Angry, self-aggrandizing, bilious and barely readable."
Hang out with a pretentious, ranting metal rocker for 250-pages. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ANGELIC MUSIC by Corey Mead
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Oct. 18, 2016

"Mead keeps the current swift, removing rough rocks that might disrupt our pleasant, engaging trip downstream with him."
The genesis, rise, fall, and rise again of Benjamin Franklin's mid-18th-century rub-the-glasses device, whose enormous popularity led to wild claims about both its salutary and detrimental effects on listeners. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ONCE A COP by Corey Pegues
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 24, 2016

"A gritty, straightforward memoir about corrective determination written from both sides of the law."
A Queens native recounts his evolution from drug dealer to decorated veteran police officer. Read full book review >