Search Results: "Courtney White"


BOOK REVIEW

GRASS, SOIL, HOPE by Courtney White
NON-FICTION
Released: June 10, 2014

"An inspiring can-do approach to the threat of global warming."
White (Revolution on the Range: The Rise of a New Ranch in the American West, 2008 etc.) shows how taking measures to increase the carbon content of the soil can help mitigate global warming. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE AGE OF CONSEQUENCES by Courtney White
NON-FICTION
Released: Jan. 13, 2015

"Though White presents no earth-shattering revelations (or solutions), readers will be engaged by his frank and thoughtful discussion of our modern environment."
A series of essays that explore some of the most pressing environmental challenges we face today and optimistically suggest some solutions. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

A LEAGUE OF HER OWN
by Leila Roy

“I want you to do this because you genuinely want to play, not because—well, because you feel the weight of historical responsibility.”
“Can’t both be true?” Jill asked.
“I don’t know,” her mother said. “Can they?”
She sure hoped so.
A Season of Daring Greatly, by Ellen Emerson White

High school senior Jill Cafferty had ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

NEW IN FEBRUARY 2017
by Leila Roy

Is it too late to put together a short list of the February books I’m looking forward to? Ah well, I’m sorry—that question was clearly disingenuous, because obviously I’ve made the list regardless. There are so, so many new releases to be excited about, and the fact that I have a big pile of them on hand makes the sixteen ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

READING ACROSS THE COUNTRY MAINE
by Leila Roy

One of the funny things about living in a state nicknamed ‘Vacationland’—especially living near the coast—is that, for locals, a huge part of summertime is about avoiding the tourist-heavy spots. You know, like the beach.

So, rather than actually leaving our houses and enjoying these lovely, lovely days in public, a large percentage of us Year-Rounders do quite a lot ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

BATHTIME by Courtney Dicmas
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 2015

"Perfectly sweet. (Board book. 6-12 mos.)"
Animals and their youngsters enjoy a squeaky-clean time. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

FAVORITES AND NEW DISCOVERIES
by Bobbi Dumas

Hi friends!

As I prepare for another year to roll in, I thought I’d share some of my favorite reads and new discoveries from 2016.

Some of you may know this has been a bit of a tumultuous year for me, but I was blessed to travel to a number of conferences, including RT, RWA, Chicago North’s Spring Fling, and ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

FALL FOR ANYTHING by Courtney Summers
FAMILY AND GROWING UP
Released: Jan. 1, 2011

"An unusual, bold effort that deserves attention. (Fiction. 14 & up)"
A once-famous photographer has committed suicide, and 17-year-old Eddie, his only daughter, desperately wants to know why. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CRACKED UP TO BE by Courtney Summers
FICTION
Released: Jan. 1, 2009

"Issue-laden and overwrought, Summers's debut will make forgettable fodder for the insatiable readers of Gossip Girl (and her many series clones) but is bound to leave teens who like a little more lit in their chick lit cold. (Fiction. 14 & up)"
High-school senior Parker Fadley used to be the most popular girl at her Catholic school. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DRESS CODES FOR SMALL TOWNS by Courtney Stevens
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Aug. 29, 2017

"A spirited, timeless tale of teen self-discovery in those tense, formative high school moments, captured with grace, lyricism, and insight. (Fiction. 14-adult)"
A gender-nonconforming 17-year-old and her crew explore desire in a small town. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

POWER OVER DEATH by Courtney Bowen
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: July 12, 2014

"A slow-paced fantasy series installment that lacks a truly climactic showdown."
The third volume in Bowen's (Servants and Followers, 2014, etc.) epic-fantasy Legends of Arria series. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ALMOST ROYALTY by Courtney Hamilton
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 31, 2014

"A hilarious, scathing tale of LA life."
A debut novel that takes an acerbic look at the cultural shortcomings of Los Angeles. Read full book review >