Search Results: "Cybèle Young"


BOOK REVIEW

OUT THE WINDOW by Cybèle  Young
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 25, 2014

"This whimsical celebration of imagination is a reminder to constantly seek to broaden our horizons, for new wonders always await. (Board book. 3-5)"
Pull this chunky, square, accordion-folded board book from its slipcase to find a simple story that's short on words but big on imagination. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A FEW BITES by Cybèle  Young
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 11, 2012

"A good story and thoroughly engaging art that flows organically from it; two attractive siblings in a recognizable setting; a winner. (Picture book. 4-8)"
There's wondrous art in the service of little brothers in this follow-up to A Few Blocks (2011). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SOME THINGS I'VE LOST by Cybèle  Young
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 15, 2015

"Perhaps more an artist's book than a children's book but universally mesmerizing. (Picture book. 5-12)"
"Where there's an end / there's a beginning. / Things grow. / Things change." Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NANCY KNOWS by Cybèle  Young
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 12, 2014

"Pure fascination. (Picture book. 3-10)"
Nancy is an elephant who has forgotten something, and she just can't remember what it could be. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE QUEEN'S SHADOW by Cybèle  Young
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 2015

"Wonderfully odd and cleverly informative. (Informational picture book. 7-10)"
When a queen, looking severe in her ball gown, suddenly misses her shadow at her own ball, the visual capabilities of her guests are put to the test in this mystery infused with natural science. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A FEW BLOCKS by Cybèle  Young
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 1, 2011

"Amazing. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Young's latest attempts to be many things—a foray into a child's imagination, a touching tale of siblings and a stage for the author's elaborate paper sculptures—and it succeeds masterfully in doing all three. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TEN BIRDS MEET A MONSTER by Cybèle  Young
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2013

"Young's skill and control in her use of black-and-white line and her humorous inventiveness will appeal to young and old alike. (Picture book. 4-8)"
The 10 birds of the original counting book (Ten Birds, 2011) reappear, this time trying to scare a monster. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TEN BIRDS by Cybèle  Young
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 2011

"Appealing, unique and not to be missed. (Picture book. 5-10)"
Ten small birds have a serious problem. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

KEVIN YOUNG
by Megan Labrise

According to poet and critic Kevin Young’s latest treatise, there’s something more American than apple pie. Bunk: The Rise of Hoaxes, Humbug, Plagiarists, Phonies, Post-Facts, and Fake News is a philosophical history of the hoax, from mid-19th-century circus sideshows to the baseless stories that circulate our social media feeds.

“People had for a long time thought of the hoax in ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

A MIGHTY IMAGINATION
by Julie Danielson

Barbara DaCosta and Ed Young aren’t new to collaboration. In 2012, she wrote and he illustrated Nighttime Ninja, her debut picture book. Mighty Moby, on shelves in early August, is their second collaboration, and it came to exist in a way not typical for most picture books, what the author calls “an unusual method” and “backward.”

Evidently, Ed Young ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

QUEERIES
by Karen Schechner, Vice President of Kirkus Indie, Kirkus Reviews

Set in the early 1980s, London Skin & Bones: The Finsbury Park Stories celebrates the residents of the Finsbury Park neighborhood in northern London. Ian Young’s collection of stories reveals a generous community of all sorts—launderettes, working-class gay lads, punks, stoners, stamp collectors, scavengers, revolutionaries in exile, and criminals. Our reviewer said Young creates “an impressive and tactile sense of ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

PROTEST PRIMER
by Julie Danielson

I may as well be honest with you: I’m not feeling very peppy today, as I sit down to type a couple of days after the Las Vegas shooting. It’s another horrific mass shooting with Congress poised to do little to nothing about it. We are a short-sighted country.

However, we can make our voices heard. Always. Speak up. Let ...


Read the full post >